قراءة الآن
الفصل 13. اكتب تحدي الرواية.
0

الفصل 13. اكتب تحدي الرواية.

by فارس شريفييونيو

محاطًا بما كان يجب أن يكون ضوءًا لا يطاق ، شعرت نينا بزيادة في القوة كما لو كان عقلها كله مضاءً. ظلالها المظلمة ومخاوفها وشياطينها اللاواعي لم يكن لديها مكان للاختباء.

Isla ، خلاصة "الحلم الأمريكي" والصورة الأمريكية. عادل ، شاب ، طموح ، جميل.

كان عقل نينا يتسابق ويستعر في نفس الوقت ، مع تسونامي من المشاعر المختلطة والخلط المطلق ضد حدود جمجمتها. كان هناك شيء واحد واضح ، وهي أنها لن تهزم. كان التأكد من ما كانت تهزمه القضية الأكثر إلحاحًا في متناول اليد. العودة إلى البداية. استعد خطواتك. ابحث عن ما فقدته. عقل نينا الجميل والمعقد حفز على العمل. قاتل؛ عالم أسطوري مليء بالألغاز والتضليل ؛ التهديد الدائم والوشيك بالموت. موت ماذا؟

بدأ كل هذا بخوفها من عدم الكمال. الخوف من مشاركة حياتها المهنية مع خريج جامعي جديد ونابض بالحياة. خوفًا من فقدان الوظيفة التي عملت دون كلل من أجل تأمينها. الخوف من ألا تكون جيدًا بما يكفي. لكن كيف ارتبط هذا بأمها؟ من كان جزيرة؟ ما هي جزيرة؟ إذا قتلت والدتها ، فإن ذلك سيجعلها في منتصف العمر على الأقل الآن. لم يكن من الممكن لها ببساطة أن تكون نجمة الخزف ذات الوجه الطازج والعينين التي قفزت بشكل غير رسمي إلى عالم نينا.

تومض صور والدتها في ذهنها ، مثل التمرير عبر ألبومات الصور على هاتفها المحمول. بسرعة وبلا مبالاة في البداية ، ولكن بعد ذلك هبطت على صورة واحدة تسببت في توقفها وجعلتها تشعر كما لو أنها عادت إلى تلك اللحظة بالذات. استهلك العطر ذو الرائحة الجميلة حواس نينا ، كما لو كانت والدتها قريبة جدًا لدرجة أنها تمكنت من الوصول إليها واحتضانها. كان هناك بلا شك أناقة في الطريقة التي حملت بها نفسها ، لكنها كانت أناقة مستفادة. نحيف وأنيق. مشذب في المراحل الأخيرة من ذكرى نينا لها. كانت الصورة الدائمة التي استمرت نينا في جذبها هي معارك والدتها العديدة مع ما وصفته بـ "شعرها الجامح". استطاعت نينا أن تتذكر المجموعة الواسعة من منتجات الشعر التي كانت تمتلكها والدتها: زيت الشعر ، التحكم في التجعد ، الكيراتين. رؤية لفرد الشعر وفرش ساخنة منتشرة في خزانة أمها ، بقيت في ذهن نينا. رسمت نينا ابتسامة عاطفية صغيرة في هذا الصدد كانت قد تقاسمتها مع والدتها. لقد ورثت شعر والدتها وتعلمت منذ سن مبكرة جداً أن تبقى تحت السيطرة ومستقيمة ومرتبة. لم تفكر قط في السؤال لماذا. لا يبدو أنها قد تهز هذا السؤال الآن.

كانت والدتها جميلة بلا شك. الوجه المطلوب على شكل قلب وعينان لوزيتان وملامح متناسقة تمامًا. كانت بشرتها ناعمة وخالية من الشوائب ، مع ظل من خشب الأبنوس يشع عبر غرفة مزدحمة. قيل أن نينا تشبه والدتها ولكنها كانت ذات نغمة أخف قليلاً من والدها مع عيون أكثر حدة وأعمق. عيون تتألق بالمعرفة وتتحرك بفضول لا هوادة فيها. عرفت نينا أنها وقفت. كانت تعلم أن مظهرها قد لوحظ ، لكنها كانت تدرك أيضًا تمامًا أن مظهرها لن يكون كافياً أبدًا. في عالم مثالي ومنصف ، سيكون هذا هو الحال تمامًا ، لكن نينا لم تعيش في هذه المدينة الفاضلة. كان عيبها مخفيًا كما تم إخفاء ميزة Isla الجمالية. كانت شخصية ذكية ومتعلمة وطموحة. كانت نينا تسعى دائمًا لتكون الأفضل في كل ما تفعله. خلال أيام دراستها ، كانت قد قضت ساعات ، ولم تذهب إلى الحفلات أو سمحت لإلهاءات المراهقات المعتادة بردعها عن تركيزها الأكاديمي. لقد عملت بجهد مضاعف مثل نظرائها للتخرج كطالب متفوق ولم تكن محبوبة نتيجة لذلك.

ومع ذلك ، بغض النظر عن مدى عملها الجاد ومدى براعتها ، عرفت أيضًا أنها لا تستطيع أبدًا تحمل أي شيء. لا تكن راضيًا أبدًا. لا تتوقع العدالة أو العدالة.

اعمل بجد وكن جاهزًا دائمًا للإجابة عن الأسئلة ، والدفاع عن موقفك ، ومعرفة متى تدفع ومتى تتراجع.

تمت هذه المحادثة في سن الخامسة. المحادثة التي حدثت في كل منزل أمريكي من أصل أفريقي. المحتوى الذي حاولت نينا دائمًا إنكاره ، ودفعه جانبًا ، وتجاهله ، ولكن مهما حاولت بجد أو مدى صعوبة عملها ، لم تستطع التخلص من هذا من كيانها. كما هو الحال مع والدتها ، دفعت نفسها إلى عالم ليس لها التاريخ أو الثقافة. كان هذا شيطانها. كان هذا هو خصمها. كان هذا هو الذي قضى على أي أمل في إرضاء الذات وتقدير الذات الذي ربما كانت تحمله لولا ذلك. كان هذا هو قاتلها! لقد كانت تشويهها الشخصي ونتاجًا لعالم سمح بذلك. لا أكثر! كانت والدتها تتوق إلى أيدي بيضاء كالحليب وعينين سماويين ، لكن هذه الرؤية كانت مزورة مثل العالم الذي تعيشه نينا.

الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، فهمت ما تعنيه كل هذه الأحداث الغريبة والغريبة. كان عليها أن تتقبل بمجدها الكامل ما كانت عليه وماذا كانت وما يعنيه ذلك. بالطبع ، التحدي 2: التعرف على هذا الوهم. التحدي 3: التعرف على نفسي.  ردد لحن مألوف من خلال أذنيها ،

"الأسود جميل ، الأسود استثنائي ، الأسود قوي ، الأسود هو أنا"

أخيرًا ، سقطت دموع الفرح من عينيها عندما تلاشى شعور الإشباع في كل وعاء من كيانها. كانت هذه إيسلا ، قاتلة ، قاتلة الروح. ولكن فقط إذا اختارت أن تموت. اختارت نينا الحياة. لقد اختارت كسر هذه الحلقة من القهر التي كانت تلاحق الكثيرين من قبلها. لرؤية كل ما يقف أمامها ، اعترف بها ولكن غيرها. لا تقبل أبدًا.

~

كان صوت الصرخة وبندقية البندقية ، متبوعًا بأصوات مكتومة ، يتردد من جهاز التلفزيون على الجانب الآخر من غرفة نومها. كان المراسل الإخباري ينقل بوحشية أنباء عن أعمال شغب ونهب. كان ذلك يحدث. كان التغيير قادمًا وقد حان الوقت للسيطرة عليها. نعم ، كانت قادمة لإيسلا ، لكن انتقامها كان في الضرر الذي ألحقته بنفسها. سرعان ما خرجت من السرير المليء بالعرق ، مصابًا بالدوار والارتباك ، ولكن بوضوح لم تكن تمتلكه حتى الآن. كل شيء أصبح منطقياً الآن. في جنون من الإثارة ، ألقت ملابسها ، وقذفت سترتها على كتفها وسرعان ما خرجت من منزلها ، مما دفع الباب خلفها.

ولأول مرة كانت تتذكرها ، كانت تجعيداتها الخشنة الحلزونية معلقة على ظهرها بحرية. 

© SchoolsCompared.com و WhoSchoolAdvisor.com 2020. جميع الحقوق محفوظة.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول كتابة تحدي رواية من قبل SchoolsCompared.com و WhoSchoolAdvisor.com ، يرجى النقر من هنا

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق هنا.

لقراءة الفصل الأول ، انقر فوق من هنا.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول مدرسة ريبتون أبوظبي ، انقر فوق من هنا

لمزيد من المعلومات حول WhoSchoolAdvisor.com ، انقر فوق من هنا.

نبذة عن الكاتب
فارس شريفي
فارس شريفي عمره 15 سنة ، بريطاني ، وطالب في الصف العاشر في مدرسة ريبتون أبوظبي. وتعليقًا على الرواية ، كتب: "رأيت فرصة لجلب النضالات والشك في الذات التي تواجهها الأقليات العرقية وكيف يتم التعامل معها بشكل مختلف بناءً على ما يعتبره المجتمع مقبولًا أو غير مقبول ، جميل أم لا ، مهم أم لا. إنها ذات صلة في اللحظة التي نجد أنفسنا فيها الآن. وأردت أيضًا إعادة القصة إلى عالمنا حتى تسمح لمن يتبعون المزيد من المرونة في تطوير القصة ".
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

Now Reading
Chapter 13. Write a Novel Challenge.
0

Chapter 13. Write a Novel Challenge.

by Fares SharifiJune 16, 2020

Surrounded by what should have been an unbearably blinding light, Neina felt a surge of strength as if her whole mind had been lit up. Her dark shadows, fears and subconscious demons had no place to hide.

Isla, the epitome of the ‘American Dream’ and the American image. Fair, young, ambitious, beautiful.

Neina’s mind was racing and raging at the same time, with a tsunami of mixed emotions and utter confusion battering against the confines of her skull. One thing was clear though, she was not going to be defeated. Ascertaining what it was she was defeating was the more pressing issue at hand. Go back to the beginning. Retrace your steps. Find what you have lost. Neina’s beautiful and complex mind spurred into action. An assassin; a mythical world full of riddles and misrepresentation; the constant and imminent threat of death. Death of what?

All of this had begun with her fear of not being perfect. Fear of sharing her career with a new and vibrant college graduate. Fear of losing the position she had worked so tirelessly to secure. Fear of not being good enough. But how did this relate to her mother? Who was Isla? What was Isla? If she had killed her mother, that would make her middle-aged at least by now. It was simply not possible for her to be the fresh-faced, doe-eyed porcelain star that had so unceremoniously catapulted into Neina’s world.

Images of her mother flashed through her mind, like scrolling through the photo albums on her mobile phone. Quickly and impassively at first, but then she landed on one image that caused her to pause and made her feel as if she had travelled back to that very moment. The sweet-scented perfume consumed Neina’s senses, as if her mother were so close that she could reach out and hug her. There was undoubtedly an elegance there in the way she carried herself, but it was a learnt elegance. Slender, stylish. Manicured in the latter stages of Neina’s memory of her. The lasting image which Neina kept being drawn to was her mother’s many battles with what she described as her ‘unruly hair’. Neina could remember the vast array of hair products her mother had: Hair oil, frizz control, keratin. A vision of straighteners and hot brushes, strewn across her mother’s dresser, lingered in Neina’s mind. Neina drew a small sentimental smile at this connection she had shared with her mother. She had inherited her mother’s hair and had learnt from a very early age to keep it under control, straight and ordered. She had never really thought to question why. She couldn’t seem to shake this question now though.

Her mother had been unquestionably beautiful. The desired heart-shaped face, almond-shaped eyes and perfectly symmetrical features. Her skin was smooth and blemish-free, with a shade of ebony that radiated through a crowded room. Neina was said to resemble her mother but was of the slightly lighter tone of her father with eyes that were sharper and deeper.  Eyes that glistened with knowledge and moved with a relentless curiosity about them. Neina knew she stood out. She knew that her looks were noticed, but she was also acutely aware that her looks would never be enough. In a perfect and equitable world this would be quite rightly the case, but Neina did not live in this utopia. Her disadvantage was as concealed as Isla’s aesthetic advantage was camouflaged. She was an intelligent, well-educated and ambitious individual. Neina had always strived to be the best at whatever she did. During her school days, she had put in the hours, hadn’t gone to parties or allowed the usual teenage distractions to deter her from her academic focus. She had worked twice as hard as her counter-parts to graduate as valedictorian and hadn’t been well-liked as a result.

However, no matter how hard she worked and how brilliant she was, she also knew that she could never assume anything. Never be complacent. Never expect fairness or justice.

Work hard and always be ready to answer questions, defend your position, know when to push and when to hold back.

This conversation was had at the tender age of five. The conversation that occurred in every African-American household. The content of which Neina had always tried to deny, push aside, ignore, but no matter how hard she tried or how hard she worked, she could not shake this from her being. As with her mother, she had pushed herself into a world that was not hers by history or culture.  This was her demon. This was her nemesis. It was this that killed any hope of self-gratification and self-appreciation that she may have otherwise held. It was this that was her assassin! She was her own misrepresentation and a product of a world that had allowed this. No more! Her mother had longed for milky-white hands and sky-blue eyes, but this vision was as forged as the world Neina was experiencing.

Now more than ever before, she understood what all of these bizarre and strange occurrences meant. She had to embrace with full glory who she was, what she was and what this meant. Of course, Challenge 2: recognise this illusion. Challenge 3: recognise myself.  A familiar melody echoed through her ears,

‘Black is beautiful, black is exceptional, black is powerful, black is me’

Finally tears of joy fell from her eyes as the feeling of gratification cascaded through every vessel of her being. This was Isla, a killer, an assassin of the soul. But only if she chose to die. Neina chose life. She had chosen to break this cycle of subjugation that haunted the many before her. To see all that stands before her, acknowledge it but change it. Never accept.

~

The sound of a scream and the crack of a rifle, followed by muffled voices, resounded from her television set on the opposite side of her bedroom. The news reporter was gesticulating wildly with news of rioting and looting. It was happening. Change was coming and it was time for her to take control. Yes, she was coming for Isla, but her revenge was in the damage she had inflicted upon herself. She hurried up out of the sweat-filled bed, dazed and confused, yet with a clarity she had never possessed thus far. Everything now made sense. In a frenzy of excitement, she threw on her clothes, tossed her jacket over her shoulder and hurried out of her house, slamming the door behind her.

For the first time she could remember, her coarse, spiralled curls hung freely down her back. 

©SchoolsCompared.com and WhichSchoolAdvisor.com 2020. All rights reserved.

For further information on the Write a Novel Challenge by SchoolsCompared.com and WhichSchoolAdvisor.com, please click here

To read Chapter 1, click here.

To read Chapter 2, click here.

To read Chapter 3, click here.

To read Chapter 4, click here.

To read Chapter 5, click here.

To read Chapter 6, click here.

To read Chapter 7, click here.

To read Chapter 8, click here.

To read Chapter 9, click here.

To read Chapter 10, click here.

To read Chapter 11, click here.

To read Chapter 12, click here.

For further information on Repton School Abu Dhabi, click here

For further information on WhichSchoolAdvisor.com, click here.

About The Author
Fares Sharifi
Fares Sharifi is 15 years old, British, and a student in Year 10 at Repton School Abu Dhabi. Commenting on the novel, he writes: "I saw an opportunity to bring in the struggles and self-doubt that ethnic minorities face and how they are treated differently based on what society deems as acceptable or not, beautiful or not, important or not. It has a relevance for the moment we now find ourselves in. I also wanted to bring the story back to our world so that it would allow those following more flexibility in the development of the story."

Leave a Reply