Jetzt lesen
SchoolsCompared Top Schools Awards Beirat und Preisrichter
0

SchoolsCompared Top Schools Awards Beirat und Preisrichter

by Jon Westley20. Dezember 2021

Aimon Sabawi

Foto von Aimon Sabawi, Mitglied des Beirats und Preisrichter der SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Aimon Sabawi ist derzeit beim Emirates Schools Establishment bei der Bundesregierung angestellt und leitet eine Reihe von Initiativen zur Verbesserung der öffentlichen Schulbildung in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten. Herr Sabawi ist ein qualifizierter Lehrer, der sowohl einen Master in Pädagogik (MED) als auch ein Postgraduierten-Zertifikat in Pädagogik (PGCE) besitzt, und ist dabei, sein erstes zweisprachiges Bilderbuch für Kinder selbst herauszugeben.

Herr Sabawi begann seine Karriere im akademischen Einzelhandelsmanagement mit Follett Hochschulgruppe in den Vereinigten Staaten teilzunehmen. He zog 2008 in die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate und trat als eines der ersten Mitglieder des Betriebsteams dem bei Dubai Schools Inspection Bureau (DSIB). Aus diesem Beitrag er wechselte in den Privatunterricht und übernahm die Rolle des Zulassungsdirektors für eine Gruppe hochkarätiger britischer Lehrplanschulen. Herr Sabawi beendete seine K-12-Karriere als Lehrer für Business & Economics und brachte ihm sowohl administrative als auch akademische Erfahrung in der Bildungsbranche der VAE ein. Er hat veröffentlicht und Studien vorgestellt im Bereich 'Soziolinguistik' an diversen internationale begutachtete Konferenzen. Herrn Sabawis Hauptforschungsinteressen sind Berufsstudien, emiratische Kultur und Bildungstechnologie. 

 

Apoll Perelini

Foto von Apollo Perelini, Mitglied des Beirats und Preisrichter der Top Schools Awards in Dubai

Apollo Perelini ist ein ehemaliger internationaler und professioneller Rugbyspieler aus Samoa.

In seiner Rugby-Karriere spielte Apollo für die St Helens Rugby League und die Sale Sharks Rugby Union in Großbritannien, Auckland und North Harbor Rugby und international für die Mannschaften der Manu Samoa Rugby Union und der Samoa Rugby League Weltmeisterschaften für beide Codes.

Herr Perelini kam 2009 nach Dubai, um dort die Rolle des Sportdirektors zu übernehmen Repton-Schule Dubai. Anschließend wurde Herr Perelini zum High Performance Director der UAE Rugby Federation ernannt.

Herr Pereleni ist der Eigentümer von Apollo Sporting Academy LLC – die führende spezialisierte Rugby-Trainingsschule, die sich darauf konzentriert, die Rugby-Zukunft von Spielern und Trainern zu verändern. Die Schule arbeitet mit jungen Menschen im Alter zwischen fünf und achtzehn Jahren sowohl unabhängig als auch innerhalb von Schulen in den VAE.

 

Brendan Law, Generaldirektor, Misk Schools, Riad

Foto von Brandan Law, Mitglied des Beirats und Preisrichter der Top Schools Awards in Dubai.

Arbeiten mit dem Misk-Schulen Vorstand ist Brendan für die Leitung aller Aspekte der Schule verantwortlich. Er bringt über 35 Jahre internationale Bildungserfahrung mit und nutzt sie, um sein Team zu formen und zu führen, damit sie gemeinsam die ehrgeizige Vision der Schule für ein neues Paradigma in der saudischen Bildung als Teil von verwirklichen können Kronprinz Mohammed bin Salmans Misk Foundation und KSAs Vision 2030.

Brendan kam im August 2019 zu den Misk Schools GEMS Bildung in Dubai, wo er für ein Portfolio von 14 britischen Premium-Schulen in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und Afrika verantwortlich war.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei GEMS war Brendan Director of Education bei Die Tourismusentwicklungs- und Investmentgesellschaft (TDIC) in Abu Dhabi und Gründungsdirektor seiner Vorzeigeschule, Cranleigh Abu Dhabi, die er 2014 ins Leben gerufen hat.

Unter seiner Vision und Leitung wurde Cranleigh zu einer mehrfach preisgekrönten Schule, die die New British International School of the Year 2017 sowie eine Reihe anderer Auszeichnungen in Anerkennung des kreativen Lehrplans und der Outreach-Programme der Schule sicherte. Vor seiner Zeit bei TDIC gründete und leitete Brendan Brighton College Abu Dhabi als Gründungsschulleiter. Aufgrund der Bedeutung seiner Arbeit in Abu Dhabi wurde er von als UAE Education Influencer 2017 gelistet WelcheSchoolAdvisor.com.

Brendan begann seine Karriere 1985 in Südafrika, von wo er als Privatlehrer für die Kinder des Präsidenten von SAAB nach Schweden zog. Sein nächster Karriereschritt war nach Großbritannien und in den unabhängigen Internatssektor. Er kam 1995 an die Bedford School, um Englisch und Sport zu unterrichten, wo er auch die Rollen des Senior Boarding Housemaster und Acting Registrar innehatte. 2003 wurde er zum Schulleiter ernannt Westbourne House School wo die Schule während seiner achtjährigen Amtszeit um 33 % wuchs und Rekordergebnisse erzielte.

Ein Absolvent der Universitäten von Port Elizabeth (jetzt Nelson-Mandela-Universität) und Cape Town, Brendan hat die Fachrichtungen Englisch und Psychologie, einen Bachelor of Arts und einen postgradualen BA Honours in Psychologie sowie ein Higher Diploma of Education.

Herr Gesetz sagt:

„Ich bin am besten, wenn ich Teams aufbaue und sie für eine gemeinsame und inspirierende Vision mobilisiere.

Misk Schools hat mutige, zukunftsorientierte Ziele. Es ist sowohl eine Freude als auch ein Privileg, ein Team zu leiten, das bereits Innovationen in den Unterricht bringt, und zu wissen, dass wir uns gemeinsam auf einer außergewöhnlichen Reise befinden, um neue Wege in der K-12-Bildung zu beschreiten.“

 

Ebtisam Al-Beiti

Foto von Abitsan-Al-Belti, Mitglied des Beirats und Preisrichter der SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Ebtisam Al-Beiti ist eine veröffentlichte Kinderbuchautorin und Expertin für frühkindliche Bildung. Sie hat eine Leidenschaft für Bildung seit ihren Highschool-Jahren, wo sie sich freiwillig meldete, um Kindern im Vorschulalter Geschichten vorzulesen. Sie verfügt über mehr als neun Jahre Erfahrung in leitenden und pädagogischen Funktionen in der Frühen Kindheit. Das Schreiben eines Kinderbuchs stand schon immer auf ihrer Wunschliste, bis es im März 2020 Realität wurde.

Erwerb eines Postgraduierten-Zertifikats in Pädagogik von der Universität von Sunderland und die direkte Arbeit mit Kindern inspirierte sie dazu, ein Buch mit einer bedeutungsvollen pädagogischen Botschaft für junge Leser zu schreiben. 'Kann ich jetzt ausgehen?'? ist ihr erstes Kinderbuch, das darauf abzielt, jungen Kindern auf unterhaltsame, spielerische und interaktive Weise aktuelle Umwelt- und Gesundheitsthemen beizubringen.

'Kann ich jetzt ausgehen?' debütierte offiziell im Februar 2021 auf der Emirates Airlines Festival der Literatur. Die erste Ausgabe von „Kann ich jetzt ausgehen? abgebildet sein in; charakterisiert in Das Reading for Pleasure-Projekt, ein staatliches Leseprogramm, das von der Emirates Literature Foundation und der Bildungsministerium der VAE. Seitdem hat es in der Region großes Interesse geweckt und war Teil einer Reihe von Schullesungen, Kinderveranstaltungen und Workshops in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten.

Ebtisam ist auch Mitglied der Globaler Rat und ist in ihrem Rat an der Verwirklichung ausgewählter Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung beteiligt.

Derzeit arbeitet sie an ihrem zweiten Buch und wird die kleinen Leser sicher zum Lachen bringen, da sie einen sehr freundlichen und doch ungewöhnlichen Charakter erleben.

Als Anwältin für Bildung hat sich Ebtisam bemüht, einen Beitrag zur Bildung kleiner Kinder zu leisten, und hat sich in ihrer Freizeit auch ehrenamtlich in Sonderschulen engagiert. Ebtisam lebt mit ihrer Familie in Dubai und ist nicht zu verwechseln mit ihrer eineiigen Zwillingsschwester!“

 

John Martin St. Valery

Foto von John Martin St. Valery, Mitglied des Beirats und Preisrichter der SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

John ist der Vorsitzende von JacksonMSV Ltd und ein preisgekrönter Spezialist für ausländische Investitionen.

Mit über 24 Jahren Erfahrung in der Region Naher Osten gründete, baute und verkaufte er die führende Spezialfirma für Unternehmensgründung und -umstrukturierung in der Region. Link-Gruppe.

Das Unternehmen ist jetzt Teil eines globalen Unternehmens für professionelle Dienstleistungen.

John arbeitet sowohl mit staatlichen als auch privaten Einrichtungen zusammen, um bei der Gestaltung des makroökonomischen Wachstums durch Auslandsinvestitionen und die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen behilflich zu sein.

Er ist Vorsitzender und CEO der British Business Group Dubai & Nördliche Emirate – und leitet die Fokusgruppe für den Bildungssektor. John sitzt auch im bilateralen Handelsgremium zwischen den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und dem Vereinigten Königreich und berät es aus KMU-Perspektive.

 

Lyn Soppelsa

Foto von Lyn Soppelsa, Mitglied des Beirats und Preisrichterin der SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Lyn Soppelsa kam 2013 als erstes Vollzeit-Teammitglied zu Which Media (und feiert 2022 ihr neuntes Jahr mit der Organisation). Anfangs war Lyn das öffentliche Gesicht von WhichSchoolAdvisor.com und besuchte Schulen in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten, um sie besser kennenzulernen und die neue Marke vorzustellen.

Im Laufe der Jahre hat Lyn sowohl in kaufmännischen als auch in redaktionellen Funktionen für WhichSchoolAdvisor.com UAE und als redaktionelle Unterstützung für WhichSchoolAdvisor.com International und mit dem Team von SchoolsCompared.com gearbeitet.

Lyns beruflicher Werdegang umfasst sowohl die Rolle als Elternvertreterin als auch als Registratorin in der allgemeinen Bildung und im Marketing für ein SEN-Zentrum in Dubai. Bevor sie zu What Media kam, arbeitete Lyn mehrere Jahre mit internationalen Familien, die in die Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate umzogen, und besuchte im Rahmen dieser Funktion zahlreiche Schulen. Dadurch erhielt sie ein kritisches Verständnis für die Prozesse und Anforderungen sowohl aus schulischer als auch aus elterlicher Sicht.

Alle drei Kinder von Lyn besuchten Schulen in Dubai und schlossen jeweils ihre Ausbildung in den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten ab, bevor sie an Universitäten in Australien und Großbritannien wechselten.

Lyn ist derzeit Review- und Community-Editor für WelcheSchoolAdvisor.com und ein (hochgeschätzter) Spezialberater und Berater für Schulvergleich.com.

 

Shaun Robinson

Foto von Shawn Robison, Mitglied des Beirats und Preisrichter der SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Shaun Robison ist ein unternehmerisch denkender Bildungsleiter, der intensiv im GCC-Bildungssektor gearbeitet hat. Herr Robison hat in den letzten 13 Jahren mit Investoren, Schulbetreibern, Lehrern und staatlichen Aufsichtsbehörden zusammengearbeitet und war an der Spitze der K-12-Entwicklung in der Region.

In seiner Funktion als CEO von BBD-Bildung, hat er kürzlich Projekte in Jakarta, Ahmedabad und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten durchgeführt. Er verfügt auch über umfangreiche Erfahrung in der Lehrausbildung und hat kürzlich seinen PhD in Education mit veröffentlicht Newcastle University.

„Die Arbeit mit und an der Seite von Lehrern war meine ständige Leidenschaft, seit ich mein PGCE und M.Ed abgeschlossen habe, und im Kern ist es alles, was ich in Newcastle gelernt habe

Als Pädagogen sollten wir gelebte Erfahrung nicht unterschätzen. Der internationale Sektor ist voll von Möglichkeiten, die einen Einblick in eine andere Welt bieten und Ihre Weltanschauung über Bildung verändern können.“

© SchoolsCompared.com. 2022. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Über den Autor
Jon Westley
Jon Westley ist Herausgeber von SchoolsCompared.com und WhichSchoolAdvisor.com UK. Sie können ihm eine E-Mail an jonathanwestley [at] schoolscompared.com senden

Hinterlasse uns einen Kommentar

Now Reading
SchoolsCompared Top Schools Awards Advisory Board and Judges
0

SchoolsCompared Top Schools Awards Advisory Board and Judges

by Jon WestleyDecember 20, 2021

Aimon Sabawi

Photograph of Aimon Sabawi, member of the Advisory Board and Judge of the SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Aimon Sabawi is currently employed by the Emirates Schools Establishment with the federal government, heading a number of initiatives to improve public school education across the United Arab Emirates. Mr Sabawi is a qualified teacher, holding both a Master’s in Education  (MED) and a Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE), and is in the process of self-publishing his first bi-lingual children’s picture book.

Mr Sabawi began his career in academic retail management with Follett Higher Education Group in the United States. He went on to relocate to the UAE in 2008, joining as one of the first operations team members of the Dubai Schools Inspection Bureau (DSIB). From this posting he transitioned into private education, assuming the role of Director of Admissions for a group of high-profile British curricula schools. Mr Sabawi ended his K-12 career as a teacher of Business & Economics, providing him both administrative and academic experience to the UAE education industry. He has published and presented studies in the field of ‘Sociolinguistics’ at various international refereed conferences. Mr Sabawi’s primary research interests are vocational studies, Emirati culture, and educational technology. 

 

Apollo Perelini

Photograph of Apollo Perelini, member of the Advisory Board and Judge of the Top Schools Awards in Dubai

Apollo Perelini is a former Samoan dual code international and professional rugby player.

Apollo’s rugby career has seen him play for championship-winning St Helens Rugby League and Sale Sharks Rugby Union in the United Kingdom, Auckland and North Harbour Rugby in New Zealand, and internationally for the Manu Samoa Rugby Union and Samoa Rugby League teams, playing in World Cups for both codes.

Mr Perelini arrived in Dubai in 2009 to take up the role of Director of Sports at Repton School Dubai. Following this, Mr Perelini was appointed the High Performance Director for UAE Rugby Federation.

Mr Pereleni is the owner of Apollo Sporting Academy LLC – the leading specialist rugby training school focused on transforming the rugby futures of players and coaches. The school works with young people between the age of five years and eighteen years both independently, and within schools across the UAE.

 

Brendan Law, Director General, Misk Schools, Riyadh

Photograph of Brandan Law, member of the Advisory Board and Judge of the Top Schools Awards in Dubai.

Working with the Misk Schools Board, Brendan has responsibility for providing leadership in all aspects of the school. He brings over 35 years of international educational experience and is using it to shape and guide his team so that together, they can deliver the school’s ambitious vision for a new paradigm in Saudi education, as part of Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman’s Misk Foundation and KSA’s Vision 2030.

Brendan joined Misk Schools in August 2019 from GEMS Education in Dubai, where he had responsibility for a portfolio of 14 British Premium schools across the UAE and Africa.

Prior to his role at GEMS, Brendan was Director of Education at The Tourism Development & Investment Company (TDIC) in Abu Dhabi, and Founding Headmaster of its flagship school, Cranleigh Abu Dhabi, which he launched in 2014.

Under his vision and direction, Cranleigh became a multi award-winning school, securing New British International School of the Year 2017 as well as a number of other accolades in recognition of the school’s creative curriculum and outreach programmes. Prior to his time with TDIC, Brendan established and led Brighton College Abu Dhabi as Founding Headmaster. Based on the significance of his work in Abu Dhabi, he was listed as a UAE Education Influencer 2017 by WhichSchoolAdvisor.com.

Brendan began his career in 1985 in South Africa from where he moved to Sweden as Private Tutor to the President of SAAB’s children. His next career step was to the UK and into the independent boarding school sector. He joined Bedford School in 1995 to teach English and Sports, where he also held the roles of Senior Boarding Housemaster and Acting Registrar. In 2003, he was appointed Headmaster at Westbourne House School where, during his eight-year tenure, the school grew by 33% and achieved record results.

A graduate of the Universities of Port Elizabeth (now Nelson Mandela University) and Cape Town, Brendan has specialisms in English and Psychology, holds a Bachelor of Arts and a postgraduate BA Honors in Psychology, as well as a Higher Diploma of Education.

Mr Law says:

“I’m at my best when I am building teams and galvanizing them behind a shared and inspiring vision.

Misk Schools has a bold, forward thinking set of goals. It is both a pleasure and a privilege to lead a team that is already delivering innovation in the classroom and to know that together, we are on an extraordinary journey to break new ground in K-12 education.”

 

Ebtisam Al-Beiti

Photograph of Abitsan-Al-Belti, member of the Advisory Board and Judge of the SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Ebtisam Al-Beiti is a published Children’s Author and Early Years Professional. She has had a passion for education since her high school years, where she used to volunteer to read stories to preschool children. She has over nine years experience in Early Years managerial and teaching roles. Writing a children’s book has always been on her bucket list, until it became a reality in March 2020.

Earning a Post Graduate Certificate in Education from the University of Sunderland and working directly with children inspired her to write a book with a meaningful educational message for young readers. ‘Can I Go Out Now? is her first children’s book which aims to teach young children about current environmental and health issues in a fun, playful, and interactive way.

Can I Go Out Now?’ made its official debut in February 2021 at the Emirates Airlines Festival of Literature. The first edition of ‘Can I Go Out Now? featured in The Reading for Pleasure Project, a government reading program introduced by The Emirates Literature Foundation and the UAE Ministry of Education. It has since gained a lot of interest in the region and has featured in a number of school readings, children’s events, and workshops in the UAE.

Ebtisam is also a member of the Global Council and is involved in working towards achieving selected Sustainable Development Goals within her council.

She is currently working on her second book and is sure it will have little readers laughing as they experience a very friendly, yet unusual character.

Being an advocate for education, Ebtisam has strived to be a contributor to the education of young children and has also volunteered in special needs schools in her free time. Ebtisam lives with her family in Dubai and is not to be confused with her identical twin sister!”

 

John Martin St Valery

Photograph of John Martin St Valery, member of the Advisory Board and Judge of the SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

John is the Chairman of JacksonMSV Ltd and an award-winning foreign investment specialist.

With over 24 years in the Middle East region he founded, built and sold the region’s leading company formation and restructuring specialist firm, Links Group.

The business is now part of a global professional services firm.

John works with both Government and Private Sector entities to assist in shaping Macro-Economic growth through foreign investment and job creation.

He is Chairman & CEO of the British Business Group Dubai & Northern Emirates – and Chairs the Education sector focus group. John also sits on/advises the bilateral trade body between UAE and UK from an SME perspective.

 

Lyn Soppelsa

Photograph of Lyn Soppelsa, member of the Advisory Board and Judge of the SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Lyn Soppelsa joined Which Media as its first full-time team member back in 2013 (and celebrates her ninth year with organisation in 2022).  Initially, Lyn was the public face of WhichSchoolAdvisor.com, visiting schools around the UAE to get to know them better and to introduce the new brand.

Over the years, Lyn has worked in both Commercial and Editorial roles for WhichSchoolAdvisor.com UAE and in support editorially of WhichSchoolAdvisor.com International and with the team at SchoolsCompared.com.

Lyn’s background includes both Parent Relations and Registrar roles in mainstream education, and marketing for a SEN centre, in Dubai. Prior to joining Which Media, Lyn spent a number of years working with international families relocating to the UAE, visiting numerous schools as part of this role. This gave her a critical understanding of the processes and requirements from both a school and parental perspective.

All three of Lyn’s children attended schools in Dubai, each completing their education in the UAE prior to moving on to universities in Australia and the UK.

Lyn is currently Reviews and Community Editor for WhichSchoolAdvisor.com and a (highly valued) special consultant and advisor for SchoolsCompared.com.

 

Shaun Robison

Photograph of Shawn Robison, member of the Advisory Board and Judge of the SchoolsCompared.com Top Schools Awards

Shaun Robison is an entrepreneurial, education leader who has worked extensively across the GCC education sector. Mr Robison has worked with investors, school operators, teachers and government regulators for the last 13 years, and been at the forefront of K-12 development in the region.

In his role of CEO of BBD Education, he has recently delivered projects in Jakarta, Ahmedabad and the UAE. He has also has extensive experience of teaching training, and has recently published his PhD in Education with Newcastle University.

“Working with and alongside teachers has been my constant passion since completing my PGCE and M.Ed and at my core, is everything I learnt at Newcastle

As educators, we should not underestimate lived experience. The international sector is awash with opportunities that may offer a glimpse into another world that may change your worldview on education.”

© SchoolsCompared.com. 2022. All rights reserved.

About The Author
Jon Westley
Jon Westley is the Editor of SchoolsCompared.com and WhichSchoolAdvisor.com UK. You can email him at jonathanwestley [at] schoolscompared.com

Leave a Reply