كل ذلك من خلال
قراءة الآن
مدرسة جيمس للعقود الرقمية ، الواحة ، دبي لاند - ذا ريفيو
0

مدرسة جيمس للعقود الرقمية ، الواحة ، دبي لاند - ذا ريفيو

by جون ويستلي21 مايو 2018

مايو 2018 - مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية ، First Firsts مدرسة جديدة في مراجعة التخطيط ، تم تأجيل الافتتاح حتى عام 2019

خلفيّة

GEMS School of Digital Futures هي مدرسة بريطانية جديدة شاملة تقدم تعليمًا قائمًا على المنهج الوطني الإنجليزي لحوالي 4000 فتى وفتاة عند الإطلاق الكامل على مراحل. ستعمل مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية كما هو الحال مع معظم المدارس الجديدة من خلال الإطلاق التدريجي ، حيث سيتم افتتاح الصفوف من 1 إلى 8 بشكل تدريجي بين عامي 9 و 13. خلال بحثنا تعلمنا أن افتتاح مدرسة جيمس للعقود المستقبلية الرقمية يجرى مؤجلة من افتتاحها المخطط لها في 2018. ستفتح المدرسة الآن في سبتمبر 2019 وفقًا لبيان صدر إلى SchoolsCompared.com.

"قرر فريق إدارة GEMS Education تأجيل افتتاح مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية حتى سبتمبر 2019 ، من أجل ضمان أننا قادرون على جعل حالة المدرسة من الفن الرقمي وبيئة التعلم التي نريدها أن تكون ، و لتوفير أفضل الخبرات التعليمية التي سيحصل عليها أطفالك.

تعمل GEMS Education بشكل وثيق مع أولياء الأمور الذين سجلوا أطفالهم ، لدعم وتخفيف أي ضغوط قد يواجهونها فيما يتعلق بوضع طفلهم في مدرسة GEMS بديلة ذات صلة حتى العام الدراسي 2019-20 ".

المتحدث الرسمي باسم GEMS Education. بيان إلى SchoolsCompared.com ، 20 مايو 2018

يتم بناء مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية على مقربة شديدة من المدينة المستدامة على حواف دبي لاند في مجموعة من مدرسة GEMS التي ستشمل أيضًا ، في عام 2020 ، GEMS Vertus ، التي تأخرت أيضًا لمدة عام واحد ، من هنا.

خريطة توضح موقع مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية وقربها من المدينة المستدامة

GEMS_INARTICLE  

 

المنهج الدراسي - وما الذي يجعل مدرسة جيمس للمستقبل الرقمي فريدة من نوعها….

ستشهد مدرسة جيمس للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية تركيزًا خاصًا على دمج التقنيات الرقمية ، بأوسع أشكالها ، في المناهج الدراسية.

يتماشى هذا مع الأساس المنطقي التعليمي للمدرسة ، وموقعها في المدينة المستدامة ، وقربها من مدينة الاستوديو.

سيحدد ذلك الطبيعة الفريدة للمدرسة - وأهميتها في خلق مشهد جديد للتعليم حول المستقبل الرقمي ".

تعليم جيمس. مايو 2018.

نظرًا لقربها من المدينة المستدامة ، فليس من المستغرب أن تميز مدرسة جيمس للعقود المستقبلية الرقمية نفسها من خلال تقديم تعليم يركز على التدفق التقني ، وهو أمر نادر في دبي - ونتوقع أن يتم عرض BTEC ولاحقًا T Levels ، غير المؤكدة حاليًا. عالية جدا في النموذج السادس.

سيتم تقديم تعليم المسار التقني من خلال مركز المستقبل الرقمي في قلب الحياة المدرسية. يصف GEMS هذا على وجه التحديد بأنه "نموذج مشابه للكليات التقنية بالجامعة في المملكة المتحدة."

إذا تم تسليمها كما هو مخطط لها ، فستكون الأولى بالنسبة لـ GEMS ودبي. لقد جادلنا منذ فترة طويلة في موقع SchoolsCompared.com بأن المدارس بحاجة إلى بذل المزيد من الجهد لتقديم التعليم الفني للأطفال - وخيارات BTEC حاليًا محدودة. نحن بحاجة إلى رؤية العديد من الخيارات المتاحة للأطفال ، بما في ذلك تلك المتجمعة حول العلوم والهندسة والمواضيع المتعلقة بالوظيفة بشكل مباشر بما في ذلك الأعمال والصناعة. هذا يمكن أن يكون تغييرًا كبيرًا لقواعد اللعبة في التعليم في الإمارات العربية المتحدة مع تأثيرات شاملة عبر القطاع وخاصة في مرحلة ما بعد 16 حيث يكون الاختيار مقيدًا حاليًا. 

حتى الآن ، ومع ذلك ، فإن التفاصيل سطحية ، وتقتصر على التأكيد على أن مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية ستستضيف دورات في مجالات تشمل:

(1) علم التشفير ، مما يؤدي إلى "مسار تأهيل فريد يتمحور حول مستقبل التمويل الرقمي" ؛

(2) إنتاج الوسائط الرقمية ، مع "تركيز التعلم على الطلاقة الإبداعية والإعلامية ، والأفلام ، والصوت ، والموسيقى ، وما بعد الإنتاج" ؛

(3) التقنيات البيئية والمستدامة ؛ ستكون مدرسة GEMS للمستقبل الرقمي ثالث مدرسة متخصصة ، بعد مراجعة مدرسة أربور من هنا، ومدرسة Fairgreen الدولية ، مراجعة من هنا، لدمج ما يسمى بالجيل القادم من الصناعات ما بعد الصناعية ، والطرق الثالثة كعنصر أساسي ومؤسس للمنهج.

 

البناء والتقدم والرسوم والقيمة

صور توضح تقدم البناء في مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية في مدينة دبي المستدامة

اعتبارًا من مايو 2018 ، تم إحراز تقدم كبير في البناء (انظر أعلاه) ، وهذا من شأنه أن يمنح الثقة للآباء بأن مدرسة GEMS للعقود المستقبلية الرقمية ستفتح بحلول عام 2019 - يمكن القول إنها تسير على المسار الصحيح حاليًا ليتم الانتهاء منها هذا العام. يصف ديف تايلور ، نائب رئيس عمليات GEMS التقدم بأنه "مذهل" ، والأهم من ذلك ، بالنسبة للآباء ، أن خطط المدرسة "مثيرة".

الرسوم ، التي تتراوح من 40,000،1 درهم إماراتي كـ FS80,000 إلى 4000،XNUMX درهم إماراتي هي قسط ، لكنها ربما ليست مرتفعة كما نتوقع في ضوء المسار التقني الموعود بالتعليم. بالنظر إلى أن مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية ستكون مدرسة GEMS المعيارية للتعليم الفني ، فهذه مدرسة جديدة - وأن تكاليف دمج التعليم الفني تبلغ حوالي ضعف تكاليف المدارس العادية بسبب الاستثمار المطلوب في المختبرات المتخصصة والمرافق الأوسع. عرض القيمة يبدو مرتفعًا للغاية. ومع ذلك ، فإن المقايضة الواحدة هي الحجم ؛ مع دور XNUMX طالب زائد ، ستكون GEMS School of Digital Futures مدرسة كبيرة بكل المقاييس.

 

القيادة المدرسية

المملكة المتحدة ماثيو تومكينز ، الرئيس التنفيذي المؤسس ورئيس مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية ، تم تجنيده مباشرة من المملكة المتحدة حيث ، بصفته المدير التنفيذي لأكاديمية The Skinners 'Kent Academy - قاد مدرسته إلى تصنيف OFSTED المتميز "في وقت قياسي". وفقًا لموقعنا الشقيق ، والذي هو موقع WhoSchoolAdvisor.com ، فإن السيد تومكينز "نال ثناءً عالياً للطريقة التي سعى بها لضمان استخدام التكنولوجيا لتأمين نتائج الطلاب المتميزة" ، بقناعة أن "الابتكار الرقمي ضروري". كانت أكاديمية كينت التابعة لسكينرز علامة بارزة ومبتكرة بقيمة 21 مليون جنيه إسترليني للمدرسة الجديدة في المملكة المتحدة والتي افتتحت في عام 2013 على مساحة 23 فدانًا مع التركيز على التكنولوجيا وهندسة التصميم القائمة على متحف غوغنهايم في نيويورك. تشتهر GEMS باختيارها الدقيق للقيادة المدرسية - ومن الملاحظ أن GEMS كان ينبغي تجنيدها من واحدة من أكثر مدارس الأكاديمية ريادة في المملكة المتحدة.

 

الحد الأدنى؟ المدارس مقارنة الحكم 

صورة للأطفال الذين يستخدمون LEGO Robotics لعرض التركيز على التكنولوجيا في افتتاح مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية في دبي في سبتمبر 2018

لا يزال الوقت مبكرًا - ولكن مدرسة جيمس للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية لديها القدرة على تحويل الفرص للطلاب في الإمارات العربية المتحدة من خلال توفير عمق لخيارات المواد التقنية غير المتوفرة في أي مكان آخر في دبي. إذا كانت هناك فجوة واحدة واضحة في التعليم في جميع أنحاء الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، فإنها تكمن ، في رأينا ، في النقص النسبي لخيارات المواد التقنية للطلاب - وبالتأكيد ، مقارنة بالمملكة المتحدة ، التي تقدم عددًا كبيرًا من الكليات التقنية المتخصصة ، دبي ، هي نلعب الزقيتة.

إنه لمن العار أن يتم تأخير إطلاق المدرسة الجديدة لمدة عام. لكي نكون منصفين لـ GEMS Education ، فإن إطلاق GEMS School of Digital Futures يعد مشروعًا طموحًا للغاية - ومن الأفضل تقديم مدرسة تلبي هذا الطموح ، بدلاً من مدرسة تقصر.

إذا كان برنامج GEMS يسلم في عام 2019 ، وإن كان بعد عام من المخطط له ، فقد تكون مدرسة GEMS للعقود الرقمية المستقبلية هي المدرسة الرائدة في تعزيز خيارات التعليم الفني في جميع المدارس - وليس فقط ، كما هو الحال هنا ، المدارس البريطانية. عادةً ما يتم تأسيس البرنامج المتعلق بالوظيفة ، داخل مدارس البكالوريا الدولية على BTEC - واتساع الخيارات حاليًا ، مع التحسن ، هو ببساطة مقيد في نطاقه.

نأمل أن نكمل أول جولة لنا في Hard Hat للمدرسة ونستجوب بعمق الاستثمار المخطط له في المختبرات والبنية التحتية في وقت لاحق من هذا العام.

انظر لهذه المساحة.

© SchoolsCompared.com 2018

هل تبحث عن مكان لطفلك وتريد المساعدة من مستشارينا في المدرسة؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فانقر على الرابط أدناه ، وسنقوم بإرسال طلب الحصول على معلومات إلى المدرسة أو المدارس من نفس النوع الذي نثق في توفره. هذه خدمة مجانية لقرائنا من موقعنا الشقيق WhoSchoolAdvisor.

طلب معلومات المدرسة

ملاحظات للآباء: اعتبارًا من مايو 2018 ، قامت GEMS بإزالة الرابط المقدم للتسجيل في مدرسة GEMS School of Digital Futures في جداولنا ، ونتوقع إعادة ذلك مع اقتراب المدرسة من مرحلة ما قبل الإطلاق الرسمية في وقت لاحق في 2018.

تفاصيل للنظر فيها
2016/17 التقييم العام لمجلس أبوظبي للتعليم / هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية

NA - مدرسة جديدة في التخطيط

التقييم العام 2015/16 لـ KHDA / ADEC

NA - مدرسة جديدة في التخطيط

نوع المدرسة

خاص ، من أجل الربح

متوسط ​​التكلفة لكل عام

FS1: 40,000
FS2: 40,000
عام 1: 45,000،XNUMX
عام 2: 45,000،XNUMX
عام 3: 45,000،XNUMX
عام 4: 45,000،XNUMX
عام 5: 45,000،XNUMX
عام 6: 45,000،XNUMX
عام 7: 70,000،XNUMX
عام 8: 70,000،XNUMX
عام 9: 70,000،XNUMX
عام 10: 75,000،XNUMX
عام 11: 75,000،XNUMX
عام 12: 80,000،XNUMX
عام 13: 80,000،XNUMX

المناهج الدراسية

المناهج الوطنية البريطانية - الإنجليزية
المكونات
(1) EYFS
(2) IGCSE
(3) المستوى

لوحات الامتحانات الخارجية

كامبردج

عدد الطلاب

4000 عند الإطلاق الكامل

أكبر معلمي الجنسية

بريطاني

افتتح العام

سبتمبر 2019

الموقع:

الواحة ، دبي لاند ، دبي (بجوار المدينة المستدامة)

تكوين الطالب

شامل

الجنس

مختلطة ، مختلطة

كافتريا المدرسة

نعم

مالك

تعليم جيمس

القبول في الهاتف

+ 971 (0) 4 395 8494

العنوان على شبكة الإنترنت
نقاط القوة

• عائد استثمار قوي جدًا على رسوم النطاق المخطط لخيارات التدفق الفني والتخصص
• ستكون قبضة للإمارات العربية المتحدة - سد الثغرات الحالية في التعليم تيار التقني
• سمعة GEMS

نقاط الضعف

• المدرسة ذات سعة 4000+ كبيرة بكل المقاييس ولن تكون مناسبة لجميع الطلاب
• مشاكل التسنين الحتمية لأي مدرسة جديدة
• النقص الحالي في المعلومات التي نشرتها GGEMS يجعل الحكم الراسخ غير مؤكد

التقييم
تقييم المسافرين
معدل هنا
أكاديمي
B-
القيمة
A+
المنهج الإضافي
-
اللغات
-
رياضات
-
فنون ودراما
-
التدريس
A-
مجال الاتصالات
-
دفء
-
التفاضل
-
إرسال الحكم
-
مجتمع Scl
-
مرافق Scl
-
الفرص

• يمكن القول إن التدفق الفني التقني هو آخر فجوة متبقية في التعليم الإماراتي تمنع الإمارات من المنافسة مع أفضل القطاعات التعليمية في العالم.
• مدرسة ميكانيكا محتملة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. إذا تم تقديم GEMS ، فإن تأثير مدرسة GEMS للمستقبل الرقمي على المشهد التعليمي في الإمارات سيكون عميقًا ، وستكون آثاره بعيدة المدى.

B+
تقييم المسافرين
لقد تصنيف هذا
هل هذه المدرسة على قائمتك المختصرة؟
أعلى القائمة المختصرة
13%
في أعلى 5
0%
القائمة المختصرة
20%
امكانية
60%
تجاوز
7%
لا يمكن
0%
نبذة عن الكاتب
جون ويستلي
جون ويستلي هو محرر موقع SchoolsCompared.com و WhoSchoolAdvisor.com UK. يمكنك مراسلته عبر البريد الإلكتروني على jonathanwestley [at] Schoolscompared.com
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

All Through
Now Reading
GEMS School of Digital Futures, Al Waha, Dubailand – The Review
0

GEMS School of Digital Futures, Al Waha, Dubailand – The Review

by Jon WestleyMay 21, 2018
Details to consider
2016/17 Overall ADEC / KHDA Rating

NA - new school in planning

2016/17 Rating Primary / Elementary

NA- new school in planning

2016/17 Rating Secondary / Middle

NA - new school in planning

2016/17 Post 16 / High

NA - new school in planning

2015/16 Overall KHDA / ADEC Rating

NA - new school in planning

Type of school

Private, for-profit

Average Cost Per Year

FS1: 40,000
FS2: 40,000
YEAR 1: 45,000
YEAR 2: 45,000
YEAR 3: 45,000
YEAR 4: 45,000
YEAR 5: 45,000
YEAR 6: 45,000
YEAR 7: 70,000
YEAR 8: 70,000
YEAR 9: 70,000
YEAR 10: 75,000
YEAR 11: 75,000
YEAR 12: 80,000
YEAR 13: 80,000

Curriculum

British - English national Curriculum
Notes
(1) EYFS
(2) IGCSE
(3) A Level

External Exam Boards

Cambridge

Number of Students

4000 on full, all-through launch

Largest nationality teachers

British

Year opened

September 2019

Location

Al Waha, Dubailand, Dubai (adjacent to The Sustainable City)

Student composition

Inclusive

Gender

Mixed, co-educational

School canteen

Yes

Owner

GEMS Education

Admissions Telephone

+971 (0)4 395 8494

Web Address
Strengths

• Very strong ROI on fees for the planned breadth of technical stream options and specialism
• Will be a fist for the UAE – filling current lacunae in technical stream education
• GEMS reputation

Weaknesses

• A 4000+ capacity school is large by any standards and will not be a good fit for all students
• Inevitable teething problems of any new school
• Current lack of information released by GGEMS makes a firmer verdict uncertain

Rating
User Rating
Rate Here
Academic
A+
Value
ExtraCurricula
Languages
Sports
Arts & Drama
Teaching
Communications
Warmth
Differentiation
SEND Provision
Scl Community
Scl Facilities
Opportunities

• Technical stream education is the arguably the last remaining gap in UAE education holding the UAE back from competing with the best educational sectors in the world.
• A potential gamechanger school for the UAE. If GEMS delivers, the impact of GEMS School of Digital Futures on the landscape of UAE education will be profound, and its implications far reaching.

A+
User Rating
You have rated this
Is this school on your shortlist?
Top of shortlist
8%
In my Top 5
0%
Shortlisted
15%
A possibility
69%
Pass
8%
No way
0%

May 2018 – GEMS School of Digital Futures, First Looks new school in planning review, Postponed opening until 2019

Background

GEMS School of Digital Futures is a new all-through British school offering the English National Curriculum based education to around 4000 boys and girls on full, all-through phased launch. GEMS School of Digital Futures will as with most new schools by phasing launch, initially opening for FS1 to Grade 8. Grades 9 – 13 will open incrementally between 2020 and 2024. During our research we learned that the opening of GEMS School of Digital Futures is being postponed from its planned opening in 2018. The school will now open in September 2019 according to a statement released to SchoolsCompared.com.

“The GEMS Education management team has decided to defer the opening of the GEMS School ofDigital Futures until September 2019, in order to guarantee that we are able to make the school thestate of the art digital and learning environment that we want it to be, and to provide the very best learning experiences that your children will receive.

GEMS Education is working closely with parents who have enrolled their children, to support and alleviate any stress they may face regarding the placement of their child in a relevant alternative GEMS school until the 2019-20 academic year.”

GEMS Education spokesperson. Statement to SchoolsCompared.com, 20 May 2018

GEMS School of Digital Futures is being built in very close proximity to Sustainable City at the edges of Dubailand in a cluster of GEMS School that will also, in 2020, include GEMS Vertus, also now delayed by one year, reviewed here.

Map showing the location of GEMS School of Digital Futures and its proximity to Sustainable City

 

Curriculum – and what makes GEMS School of Digital Futures unique….

“GEMS School of Digital Futures will see a special emphasis placed on the integration of digital technologies, in their widest form, into the curriculum.

This is in line with the educational rationale for the school, its location in Sustainable City, and its proximity to Studio City.

These will define the unique nature of the school – and its importance in creating a new landscape of education around digital futures.”

GEMS Education. May 2018.

Given its proximity to The Sustainable City it is not surprising that GEMS School of Digital Futures will set itself apart by offering a technical stream focused education, rare in Dubai – and we would expect BTEC, and later T Levels, currently not confirmed, to feature very highly at Sixth Form.

Technical stream education will be delivered through the Centre for Digital Futures at the heart of School Life. GEMS specifically describes this as “a model akin to University Technical Colleges in the UK.”

If delivered as planned this will be a first for GEMS and for Dubai. We have long argued at SchoolsCompared.com that schools need to do more to deliver on technical stream education for children – and currently BTEC options are limited. We need to see many more options available to children, including those clustered around Science, Engineering and more directly career-related subjects including business and industry. This could very well be a game-changer in UAE Education with sweeping impacts across the sector and particularly at Post-16 where choice is currently constrained. 

To date, however, details are sketchy, limited to confirmation that GEMS School of Digital Futures will host courses in areas including:

(1) Cryptology, leading to a “unique qualification pathway centered on the future of digital finance”;

(2) Digital media production, with “learning focused on creative and media fluency, film, sound, music, and post production”;

(3) Eco and sustainable technologies; GEMS School of Digital Futures will be the third specialist school, after the Arbor School, reviewed here, and Fairgreen International School, reviewed here, to integrate the so called next generation of post-industrial, third way industries as a founding, core element of the curriculum.

 

Construction and Progress, fees and value

Images showing the progress of construction at GEMS school of Digital Futures in Dubai Sustainable City

As of May 2018, significant progress has been made on the build (see above), and this should give confidence to parents that GEMS School of Digital Futures will open by 2019 – it is arguably on track currently to be completed this year. Dave Taylor, Vice President of GEMS Operations describes progress as “incredible” and, more importantly, for parents, the plans for the school as “exciting.”

Fees, which run from AED 40,000 as FS1 to AED 80,000 are premium, but perhaps not as high as we would expect given the technical stream education promised. Given that GEMS School of Digital Futures will be GEMS benchmark school for Technical Education, this is a new school – and that the costs of integrating technical education are around double those of mainstream schools because of the investment required in specialist labs and broader facilities, the value proposition looks extremely high. However, one trade-off is scale; with a role of 4000 plus students, GEMS School of Digital Futures will be a large school by any standards.

 

School Leadership

UK Matthew Tomkins, Founding CEO and Head of GEMS School of Digital Futures, has been recruited directly from the UK where, as Executive Principal of The Skinners’ Kent Academy – he led his school to an outstanding OFSTED rating “in record time.” According to our sister site, WhichSchoolAdvisor.com, Mr Tomkins has been  “been highly commended for the way that he has sought to ensure that technology is used to secure outstanding student outcomes,” with a conviction that “digital innovation is essential.” The Skinners’ Kent Academy was a landmark and innovative £21M new school for the UK which opened in 2013 on a 23 acre site with a focus on technology and a design architecture based on the Guggenheim Museum in New York. GEMS is known for its careful selection of school leadership – and it is telling that GEMS should have recruited from arguably one of the most pioneering of the UK’s Academy schools.

 

Bottom Line? The SchoolsCompared Verdict 

Image of children using LEGO Robotics to showcase the focus on technology at GEMS School of Digital Futures opening in Dubai in September 2018

It is early days – but GEMS School of Digital Futures has the potential to transform the opportunities for students in the UAE by offering a depth of technical stream subject options not available elsewhere in Dubai. If there is one obvious gap in education across the UAE, it lies, in our view, in the relative lack of technical subject options for students – and certainly, compared to the UK, which offers a plethora of specialist technical colleges, Dubai, is playing catch-up.

It is just a shame that the launch of the new school has been delayed by a year. To be fair to GEMS Education, the launch of GEMS School of Digital Futures is a hugely ambitious project – and it is better to deliver a school that meets that ambition, than one that falls short.

If GEMS delivers in 2019, albeit a year later than planned GEMS School of Digital Futures could be the pioneer school in an eventual ratcheting up of technical education options in all schools – and not just, as here, British schools. The Career-related Programme, within the International Baccalaureate Schools is usually founded on BTEC – and the breadth of options currently, whilst improving, are simply too restrictive in scope.

We hope to complete our first Hard Hat Tour of the school short and interrogate in depth the planned investment in Labs and infrastructure later this year.

Watch this space.

©SchoolsCompared.com 2018

Are you looking for a place for your child, and want help from our school consultants? If so, click on the link below, and we will forward your request for information to the school or schools of the same type that we are confident have availability. This is a free service for our readers from our sister site WhichSchoolAdvisor.

Request School Information

Notes to parents: as of May 2018 GEMS has removed the provided link for enrollment at GEMS School of Digital Futures in our tables and we expect this to be reinstated as the school nears official pre-launch phase later in 2018.

About The Author
Jon Westley
Jon Westley is the Editor of SchoolsCompared.com and WhichSchoolAdvisor.com UK. You can email him at jonathanwestley [at] schoolscompared.com

Leave a Response