المدونة
قراءة الآن
رسالة من المحرر. موت المستوى الذهبي المستوى؟ لماذا يعتبر إلغاء مؤهلات BTEC فكرة سيئة (جدًا).
0

الخلفية: رسالة من المحرر. لماذا يعتبر إلغاء مؤهلات BTEC فكرة سيئة للغاية.

تم التحديث في سبتمبر 2021.

الإلغاء المطروح لمؤهلات BTEC من الباب الخلفي لتعزيز تأهيل المستوى T الجديد الذي نعتقد أنه قد يؤدي إلى فشل مذهل. قد تؤدي التغييرات المطروحة من قبل حكومة المملكة المتحدة إلى ضربة مزدوجة لخسارة التمويل وبالتالي المصداقية لدراسة BTEC - تسريع انتهاء التأهيل على مدى السنوات الخمس المقبلة. يمكن أن يأتي الضرر بسرعة أكبر إذا لم تتراجع حكومة المملكة المتحدة عن التراجع لأن المدارس بالفعل تفكر حتمًا في جدوى إطلاق مؤهل يمكن ، في أسوأ الأحوال ، أن يكون الآن في مخاضه الأخير. لا أحد يريد أن يدعم حصان خاسر… ..

إذن ما هي خلفية القصة التي شهدت اشتعال النيران في الصحافة التعليمية على مستوى العالم هذا الأسبوع؟

تدور القصة بشكل أساسي حول مستويات T. عند إطلاق T Levels ، أرادت حكومة المملكة المتحدة ، بشكل صحيح تمامًا ، تعزيز تعليم التيار التقني إلى النقطة التي يمكنها عندها التنافس في نفس ميدان اللعب مثل المستويات A. من الصحيح تمامًا ، بالتأكيد ، أن المؤهلات التقنية والأكاديمية يجب أن تحمل نفس الوزن والهيبة - وإذا سارت الأمور على ما يرام ، فإن الهدف من T Levels هو أنه سيكون هناك معياران ذهبيان في التعليم العالمي: المستوى A ، على أساس المواد الأكاديمية ، ومستويات T ، بناءً على المواد التقنية.

حتى عندما تم طرح السؤال لأول مرة ، كان السؤال الكبير هو ما إذا كانت T Levels ستصبح ببساطة علامة تجارية جديدة لمؤهلات BTEC الحالية.

مستويات T ، في هذا الرأي ، ستكون فعليًا مؤهلات BTEC المستوى 3 في الكل ما عدا الاسم. بناءً على هذا الفهم لما تنوي الحكومة البريطانية فعله ، كان الهدف فقط هو تعزيز مكانة ومكانة المؤهلات التقنية والمهنية. بالنسبة للكثيرين ، كان السائق أيضًا هو التراجع عن تأثير اختيار الحكومة البريطانية لجعل الدراسة الجامعية كلها متوقعة للطلاب (بدلاً من أن يتمكن الطلاب تاريخيًا من ترك المدرسة لمهنة من 16 عامًا).

سواء كانت مدفوعة بالحاجة إلى تدليك أرقام البطالة (لا يظهر الطلاب على أنهم عاطلون إحصائيًا) ، أو مدفوعًا بإيمان حقيقي بإضفاء الطابع الديمقراطي على التعليم العالي ، فقد نجحت هذه الخطوة. اليوم يدرس حوالي 3 ملايين طالب مؤهلات في التعليم العالي. من خلال تعميم توقع دخول غالبية الطلاب إلى التعليم العالي ، كانت النتيجة أن الجامعة اليوم أقل بكثير ، كما كانت ، حول التركيز على الطلاب الأكاديميين ، من توسيع الفرص التعليمية للأغلبية. يمكن القول إن سنوات من التكبر بشأن الدراسة التقنية (يعتمد في جزء صغير منها على الفصل الطويل الآن بين الفنون التطبيقية والجامعات) ، إلى اندفاع نحو الدراسة الأكاديمية التي لم تتناسب مع احتياجات أو طموحات الطلاب الذين كان طموحهم الأساسي سريعًا. مسار المسار إلى العمل.

GEMS_INARTICLE  

في الوقت الحالي ، حتى نطاق الموضوع المخطط لدورات T Level ضعيف. فقط 20 يتم مناقشة مجالات الموضوعات - والكثير منها لن يتم تقديمها حتى عام 2023. قارن هذا مع BTEC التي تقدم للطلاب خيارًا أكثر من 2000 مؤهلات.

اقرأ القائمة الكاملة لموضوعات BTEC الحالية والمخطط لها هنا. 

كذلك أيضًا ، أثبتت BTEC ، بعد معركة طويلة من القلوب والعقول والتحيز ، أنها ذكية ومستجيبة للغاية لاحتياجات السوق (وعلى نفس القدر من الأهمية ، احتياجات الطلاب وطموحاتهم). أبلغنا في وقت سابق من هذا العام عن قرار مدرسة GEMS FirstPoint بتقديم مؤهلات BTEC جديدة في الألعاب والرياضات الإلكترونية - وكلاهما صناعات سريعة الحركة تبلغ قيمتها مليار دولار. يمكنك أن تقرأ عن هذا هنا. يمكن القول أيضًا ، أن BTEC اليوم قد تطورت ، في الواقع ، لتطوير نوع المكانة والقدرة على التكيف التي سعى مؤهل T Level للاستغناء عنها في موضوعات التدفق التقني. يجادل الكثيرون بأن T Levels تعمل على حل المشكلات التي تم حلها بالفعل نتيجة لذلك. لا مزيد من البحث ، كما يقول المدافعون عن BTEC ، أن برنامج البكالوريا الدولية المرتبط بالوظيفة ، وهو مؤهل يبني نفسه في 95٪ زائد من الحالات حول BTEC. بالنسبة للكثيرين ، يعد البرنامج المتعلق بالوظيفة البطل المجهول لتعليم البكالوريا الدولية ويمكن القول إنه مؤهل أكثر روعة من زميله المعروف بدرجة دبلوم.

ولكن هل هناك المزيد مما يحدث هنا أكثر مما تراه العين؟ بالنسبة للكثيرين ، فإن التحرك لتسويق جميع مؤهلات التعليم العالي هو القصة الحقيقية. يجادل الكثيرون بأن ما يحدث ، في الواقع ، هو قطع تقني وحرق والأكاديمية خيارات للطلاب - مع مجالات المواد الدراسية التي تؤدي بشكل قاطع إلى توظيف سريع ، أو على الأقل أنواع الوظائف التي تعتبرها حكومة المملكة المتحدة جديرة بالحصول على مكان حقيقي في مستقبل التعليم.

إن تأثير ما يتم تحديده على BTEC ، إذا تم تصديق الأسوأ ، سيكون له تأثيرات على جميع الطلاب.

سيتذكر الكثيرون إعلانات BT الشهيرة التي تم عرضها على الأسئلة الاجتماعية حول قيمة موضوعات "ology" مقابل الموضوعات الأكاديمية التقليدية "الحقيقية" الأكثر أهمية. أثناء التسلية ، فإن استهداف موضوع عملي (فخار) وأكاديمي حقيقي ومحترم ، ولكن يساء فهمه ، علم الاجتماع وعلم الاجتماع ، استحوذ على الضغوط المتزايدة وروح العصر حتى في ذلك الوقت لتقييد اختيار الموضوع بالموضوعات "الحقيقية" فقط والضحك من الدرجة الثانية كما أدار مواضيع درسها حمقى يُفترض أنهم لا يستطيعون أن يفعلوا أفضل من ذلك.

يمكن القول إن نتيجة استجواب BTEC وانتشار اختيار الموضوع الأكاديمي لصالح مستويات T متشابكة جديدة تخاطر بالتراجع عن جميع السنوات العديدة التي تم فيها تخصيص الضرر الناجم عن هذا النهج بشكل صحيح إلى كومة الخردة من التحيز الذي يحددها. بالنظر إلى مجالات الموضوعات العشرين التي يتم دفعها في مستويات T الجديدة ، فإن المدهش هو أنه لا يمكن حتى تدريس العديد منها في المدارس ، مع متطلبات البنية التحتية التي من المحتمل أن تكون ميسورة التكلفة من قبل كليات التعليم الإضافي. من الواضح أيضًا أن حكومة المملكة المتحدة تُنشئ مصفوفة من المسارات الوظيفية التي تعتقد أنها ذات قيمة - الطلاب والمعلمين يتمنون أن يلعنوا. وحيث تطورت BTEC لتصبح عالمية في النظرة المستقبلية ، يمكن القول إن قائمة المستوى T للموضوعات المعروضة تبدو مقيدة بشكل ملحوظ ، ومحافظة ، ومتحيزة ، وتتطلع إلى الداخل. من المؤكد أننا يجب أن نتوقع أكثر من مجرد خطوة يشير النقاد بالفعل إلى أنها ستضربها ، ولا سيما النزعة الدولية والعرقية والمعاقين الطلاب.

إنها الأيام الأولى ، ولكن يبدو أن حكومة المملكة المتحدة عازمة على إلغاء تمويل BTEC بشكل كبير. الخطر هو أنه سيكون الحافة الرفيعة للغاية للإسفين. قد يكون الادعاء أن النية ، بحلول عام 2023 ، هي فقط إزالة التمويل "لغالبية" المؤهلات التي "تتداخل" مع المستويات A و T ، ولكن الضرر الذي يلحق بمصداقية BTEC يمكن أن يتحول بسرعة إلى شيء أسوأ بكثير.

منذ نشر هذا المقال لأول مرة ، تم إجراء تدخل قوي من قبل EDSK بحجة ذلك يجب إلغاء المستويات A Level و BTEC و T Levels وإدخالها جميعًا في البكالوريا البريطانية الجديدة. سيحصل جميع الطلاب على مؤهل ذي قيمة متساوية حيث لا تُحدث أنواع المواد التي تمت دراستها أي فرق في مؤهل البكالوريا النهائي الممنوح ودرجته. أي خصم متبقي للتعليم الفني سيتم إزالته أخيرًا من التعليم البريطاني. إنها فكرة ذكية والمنطق سوف يعمل بشكل متساوٍ في إلغاء كل من برنامج البكالوريا الدولية الوظيفي والدبلوم وتجميع جميع المواد معًا في شهادة البكالوريا الدولية واحدة.

EDSK- إعادة تقييم-المستقبل- الجزء 2

نعتقد أن المكاسب التي تحققت مع BTEC مهمة وثمينة للغاية لتبديدها.

عرض موضوع BTEC يضع T Levels في العار.

بكل الوسائل ، قم بتطوير T Levels باعتبارها الشكل الأكثر مباشرة للوصول إلى العمل مع الحفاظ على BTECs سليمة - ولكن إذا كنت ستخاطر بـ BTEC ، تحتاج T Levels إلى تكرار BTEC بشكل فعال ، وليس القضاء عليها ، وسيحتاج الطموح إلى النمو لتقديم ذلك . بدلاً من ذلك ، فإن تطوير شهادة البكالوريا البريطانية الجديدة كليًا من شأنه أن يحل المشكلة برمتها في عملية مسح واحدة واضحة.

هل نحن مستعدون بعد للتخلي عن الكأس المقدسة لـ A Levels؟ هل من الممكن أن يكون مؤهل المستوى A قد مر بيومه؟ أو يجب أن تفعل؟

تحتاج حكومة المملكة المتحدة ، في رأينا ، إلى العودة إلى لوحة الرسم - إذا كان ذلك موجودًا حتى في نظرتها التي تبدو شديدة التقييد لما يهم ، أو يجب أن يكون له أهمية ، في تعليم القرن الحادي والعشرين.

ملاحظة

اقرأ الاستشارة الكاملة لوزارة التعليم البريطانية على BTEC هنا.

اقرأ الملخص المدروس للقضايا في موقع SchoolsWeek هنا.

اقرأ دليل المدارس الأصلي المقارن لمستويات T و BTEC هنا.

© SchoolsCompared.com. 2021. جميع الحقوق محفوظة.

نبذة عن الكاتب
جون ويستلي
جون ويستلي هو محرر موقع SchoolsCompared.com و WhoSchoolAdvisor.com UK. يمكنك مراسلته عبر البريد الإلكتروني على jonathanwestley [at] Schoolscompared.com
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

News
Now Reading
Letter from the Editor. The Death of the Gold Standard A Level? Why Abolishing BTEC Qualifications is a (Very) Bad Idea.
0

Background: Letter from the Editor. Why Abolishing BTEC Qualifications is a Very Bad Idea.

Updated September 2021.

The mooted abolition of BTEC qualifications by the backdoor to strengthen the new T Level qualification we think could spectacularly misfire. Mooted changes by the UK government could see a double whammy of loss of funding and so credibility to study of BTEC – speeding up the qualification’s demise over the next five years. The damage could come much more swiftly if the UK government does not backtrack as already schools are inevitably considering the viability of launching a qualification that could, worst case, now be in its last throes. No one wants to back a losing horse…..

So what is the background to the story that has seen the education press globally on fire this week?

Essentially, the story revolves around T Levels. In launching T Levels, the UK government, quite correctly, wanted to strengthen technical stream education to the point at which it could compete on the same playing field as A’ Levels. It is absolutely right, surely, that technical and academic qualifications should carry the same weight and prestige – and, if all goes to plan, the aim of T Levels is that there will be two gold standards in global education: The A’ Level, based on academic subjects, and T Levels, based on technical subjects.

Even when first mooted, however, the big question was whether T Levels would simply be a re-brand of existing BTEC qualifications.

T Levels, in this view, would effectively be BTEC Level 3 qualifications in all but name. On this understanding of what the British government was up to, the aim was only to strengthen the profile and prestige of technical and vocational qualifications. For many, the driver too was to undo the impact of the British government’s choice to make university study all but expected for students (rather than students historically being able to leave school for a career from 16 years).

Whether driven by the need to massage the unemployment figures (students do not appear as statistically unemployed), or whether driven by a genuine belief in democratising higher education, the move has worked. Today around 3 million students are studying qualifications in higher education. By universalising the expectation that a majority of students would enter higher education, the result has been that university today is far less, as it was, about a focus on academic students, than extending the educational opportunities of the majority. Years of snobbery about technical study (in no small part based on the now long-distant separation of polytechnics and universities), arguably resulted in a rush for academic study that simply did not fit the needs or ambitions of students whose primary ambition was a rapid track route into work.

SOUTH_VIEW_DESKTOP_MPU

Currently even the planned subject breadth of T Level courses is feeble. Only 20 subjects areas are being mooted – and many of these are not even due for introduction until 2023. Compare this with BTEC which offers students a choice of more than 2000 qualifications.

Read the full list of existing and planned BTEC subjects here. 

So too, BTEC, after a long battle of hearts , minds and prejudice, has proven itself to be nimble and highly responsive to the needs of the market (and as important, the needs and ambitions of students). We reported earlier this year on the decision of GEMS FirstPoint School to introduce new BTEC qualifications in Games and E-sports – both fast-moving billion dollar industries. You can read about this here. Arguably too, today BTEC has, in fact, evolved to develop just the sort of prestige and adaptability that the T Level qualification sought to shower on technical stream subjects. Many argue that T Levels are solving a problems that has, as a result, already been solved. Look no further, defenders of BTEC argue, that the International Baccalaureate Career-related Programme, a qualification that in 95% plus of cases builds itself around BTEC. For many, the Career-related Programme is the unsung hero of an IB education and arguably a more formidable qualification that its better known Diploma compatriot.

But is there more going on here than meets the eye? For many, the move to marketize all higher education qualifications is the real story. Many argue that, in fact, what is taking place is a slash and burn of technical and academic options for students – with only those subject areas that definitively lead to quick employment, or at least the types of employment the UK government sees as worthy, as having a real place in the future of education.

The impact of what is being decided on BTEC, if the worst is to be believed, will have impacts on all students.

Many will remember the famous BT adverts that played on social questions of the value of “ology” subjects against the more meaningful traditional “true” academic subjects. Whilst amusing, the targeting of a practical subject (pottery) and a genuinely academic and respected, but misunderstood, social science, Sociology, captured the growing pressures and zeitgeist even then to restricting subject choice to only “real” subjects and laughing at second rate also-ran subjects studied by supposed morons who could do no better.

The result of the questioning of BTEC’s and proliferation of academic subject choice in favour of new fangled T Levels arguably risks undoing all the many years in which the damage caused by this approach has been rightfully assigned to the scrap heap of prejudice that defines it. Looking at the 20 subject areas being pushed in the new T Levels, what is striking is that many cannot even be taught in schools, with infrastructure requirements that are likely to be affordable by Colleges of Further Education. It’s also clear, that the UK government is setting up a matrix of the career paths it believes have value – students and teachers wishes be damned.  And where BTEC has evolved to be international in outlook, arguably the T Level roster of subjects being offered looks remarkably restrained, conservative, prejudiced and inward-looking. Surely we should expect more than a move that already critics are pointing out will hit, internationalism, ethnic and disabled students particularly harshly.

It is early days, but the UK government seems set on defunding BTEC significantly. The risk is that it will be the very thin edge of a wedge. The claim may be that the intention, by 2023,  is only the removal of funding for the “majority” of qualifications that “overlap” with A-levels and T Levels, but the damage to the credibility of BTEC could swiftly downwardly spiral into something much worse.

Since first publishing this article, a strong intervention has been made by EDSK arguing that A Levels, BTECs and T Levels should all be abolished and all rolled into a new British Baccalaureate. All students would receive an equally valued qualification in which the types of subjects studied would make no difference to the final Baccalaureate qualification awarded and its grade. Any remaining discounting of technical education would be finally removed from British education. It’s a clever idea and the logic would equally work in abolishing both the IB Career Programme and Diploma and rolling all subjects together into a single IB Baccalaureate.

EDSK-Re-assessing-the-future-part-2

We think that the gains made with BTEC are too important and precious to squander.

BTEC subject breadth puts T Levels to shame.

By all means develop T Levels as the most direct form of access to employment keeping BTECs intact – but if you are going to risk BTEC, T Levels need to effectively replicate BTEC, not kill it, and the ambition will need to grow to deliver that. Alternatively, the development of an all new definitive British Baccalaureate would solve the entire problem in one clear sweep.

Are we ready yet to abandon the holy grail of A Levels? Is it, could it, just be possible that the A Level qualification has had its day? Or should do?

The UK government, in our view, needs to go back to the drawing board – if that even exists in its seemingly hugely restrictive view of what matters, or should mater, in 21st century education.

Notes

Read the full UK Department of Education Consultation on BTEC here.

Read SchoolsWeek’s considered summary of the issues here.

Read our original SchoolsCompared Guide to T Levels and BTEC here.

© SchoolsCompared.com. 2021. All rights reserved.

About The Author
Jon Westley
Jon Westley is the Editor of SchoolsCompared.com and WhichSchoolAdvisor.com UK. You can email him at jonathanwestley [at] schoolscompared.com

Leave a Reply