التعليم 16-18
قراءة الآن
الالتحاق بأعلى جامعة في المملكة المتحدة - كيفية التوجيه
0

الالتحاق بأعلى جامعة في المملكة المتحدة - كيفية التوجيه

by جون ويستلي1 مايو 2017

الجزء 1.

ترك المدرسة - الأسئلة الكبيرة

من بين جميع الأسئلة التي تواجه الشباب والشابات في المدارس في جميع أنحاء الإمارات التي تفكر في ترك المدرسة في نهاية المطاف والبحث عن طريق إلى التعليم العالي بدلاً من الصناعة ، من المرجح أن تكون الأسئلة الأكثر إلحاحًا

  • ما هي الجامعة التي يجب أن أتقدم لها؟
  • كيف أحمي مكاني؟
  • هل سأكون قادرًا على تحمل الرسوم؟

غالبًا ما يتم التفكير في هذه الأسئلة تجاه التخرج ، في حين أن الأوان في معظم الحالات يكون قد فات الأوان. من الناحية المثالية ، يجب البدء في فهم هذه الأسئلة والأسئلة ذات الصلة في أقرب وقت ممكن.

وهذا يعني ، من الناحية العملية ، اختيار مدرسة للفترة الحرجة ما بين 16 و 18 التي لديها أقسام متخصصة موجهة نحو توجيه الطلاب حول أفضل طريقة لتلبية إمكاناتهم وطموحاتهم عند المغادرة في نهاية المطاف إلى الجامعة أو الصناعة.

التخطيط لمنصة جامعية أمر نعتقد أنه يحتاج إلى البدء في أقرب وقت ممكن - وبالتأكيد قبل اتخاذ خيارات المستوى الأعلى في المستوى 16.

يختلف مشهد الخريجين الذي يواجه اليوم الشباب والشابات تمامًا عن المشهد الذي كان عليه قبل عشر سنوات. الضغوط أعلى بكثير. لا يتطلب الأمر سوى اعتراف سريع بالزيادة الهائلة في أعداد الشباب الذين يغادرون المدرسة الآن للجامعة بدلاً من الصناعة لإدراك أن الحصول على مكان في الجامعة ، وبالتأكيد أعلى الجامعة ، لم تكن أبداً أكثر تنافسية.

والنتيجة هي أنه في الوقت الذي نمت فيه الخيارات والأماكن ، فإن المنافسة على تلك الأماكن وتوقعات أفضل الجامعات في ما يتوقعونه من المتقدمين قد زادت أيضًا. في فنلندا حوالي 85٪ من جميع الشباب والشابات يذهبون الآن إلى الجامعة. عبر مجموعة دول منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية (OECD) ، تضاعف المعدل إلى 40 ٪ بين عامي 1995 و 2008. ما بين 30 ٪ و 50 ٪ من الشباب والشابات يذهبون إلى الجامعات في المملكة المتحدة اعتمادًا على التجمعات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية - أ قفز من حوالي 6٪ قبل عشرين سنة فقط أصبحت الجامعة توقعًا سائدًا بدلاً من السعي وراء النخبة القليلة.

يمكن القول أن التعليم الجامعي الجامعي ، عن طريق الخطأ أو الخطأ ، أصبح بشكل متزايد توقعًا ومعيارًا بدلاً من خيار لا يتخذه سوى عدد كبير من الأطفال.

GEMS_INARTICLE  

 

التالي: النماذج السادسة المتخصصة في دولة الإمارات

نبذة عن الكاتب
جون ويستلي
جون ويستلي هو محرر موقع SchoolsCompared.com و WhoSchoolAdvisor.com UK. يمكنك مراسلته عبر البريد الإلكتروني على jonathanwestley [at] Schoolscompared.com
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

Education16-18
Now Reading
Getting into a Top UK University – a How To Guide
0

Getting into a Top UK University – a How To Guide

by Jon WestleyMay 1, 2017

Part 1.

Leaving school – the big questions

Of all the questions facing young men and women in schools across the emirates thinking about their eventual leaving school and seeking a route into Higher education rather than Industry, the most pressing are likely to be

  • Which university should I apply for?
  • How do I secure my place?
  • Will I be able to afford the fees?

Too often these questions are thought about towards graduation, when in most cases it is simply far too late. Ideally, getting a grip on these and related questions needs to be started as early as possible.

That means, in practice, choosing a school for the critical period between 16 and 18 that has specialist departments geared towards guiding students in how best to meet their potential and ambitions when eventually leaving for university or industry.

Planning for a university slipstream is something that, we think, needs to start as early as possible – and certainly before higher level subject choices are made at 16.

The Graduate landscape that today faces young men and women is very different from even that of ten years ago. Pressures are much higher. It only takes a cursory recognition of the near exponential increase in numbers of young people now leaving school for university rather than industry to realise that getting a place at university, and certainly a top university, has never been more competitive.

And the result is that whilst choice and places have grown, so too the competition for those places and the expectations of top universities in what they expect from applicants has too. In Finland around 85% of all young men and women now go to university. Across the Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) group of countries the rate doubled to 40% between 1995 and 2008. Between 30% and 50% of young men and women go to university in the UK depending on socio-economic groupings – a jump from around 6% only twenty years ago. University has become a mainstream expectation rather than a pursuit of the elite few.

Arguably undergraduate university education, rightly or wrongly, is increasingly becoming an expectation and the norm rather than an option taken only by an elite number of children.

 

Next: Specialised Sixth Forms in the UAE

About The Author
Jon Westley
Jon Westley is the Acting Editor of SchoolsCompared.com and the International Editor of WhichSchoolAdvisor.com. You can email him at jonathanwestley [at] schoolscompared.com

Leave a Response