دليل
قراءة الآن
نتائج هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية 2017-18 - من هو في القائمة ، من المتدني في التصنيفات
0

نتائج هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية 2017-18 - من هو في القائمة ، من المتدني في التصنيفات

by ليز أونيل9 مايو 2018
أصدرت هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية (KHDA) نتائج عمليات التفتيش المتبقية للعام الدراسي 2017-18. يصادف هذا العام الذكرى العاشرة منذ بدء عملية تفتيش هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية في مدارس دبي ، وتوفر اللمحة العامة التي قدمتها هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية ثروة من المعلومات حول كيفية تحسن جودة التعليم في دبي في السنوات الفاصلة. يمكن العثور على مزيد من التفاصيل بعد التحديثات على التغييرات في التصنيف هذا العام.

تم تحديث موقع SchoolsCompared.com قائمة كاملة حتى يتمكن الآباء من التعرف على الفور على المدارس التي تمت ترقيتها ، وأولئك الذين لم يؤدوا أداءً جيدًا من قبل ، والأغلبية العظمى ، الذين احتفظوا بتصنيفهم السابق. على الرغم من أن تصنيف مقبول مقبول رسميًا ، فإن الحد الأدنى المطلوب من المدارس هو تحقيقه - لا سيما إذا كانت ترغب في التوسع - هدف هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية هو ضمان تصنيف جميع المدارس على الأقل على أنها جيدة.

يتم تضمين نتائج المدرسة الآسيوية 2017-18 في القائمة ، ولكن لمزيد من التفاصيل ، اقرأ مقالنا المنشور في وقت إصدار النتائج في فبراير هنا. للحصول على فهم أفضل لما يبحث عنه المفتشون ، اقرأ دليلنا هنا.

يوجد الآن 194 مدرسة في دبي تقدم 17 منهاجًا دراسيًا مختلفًا. من بين 166 مدرسة تم فحصها في دبي في العام الدراسي الحالي ، تم تصنيف 14 مدرسة رائعة ، و 27 درجة جيدة جدًا ، و 67 درجة جيدة ، و 51 مقبولة ، و 6 ضعيفة. تم فحص جميع المدارس هذا العام على أنها رائعة وجيدة جدًا ، والتي شاركت في مشروع الوفرة العام الماضي ولم تكن جزءًا من عملية التفتيش 2016-17. كانت التغييرات الملحوظة بين التقييمات المدرسية المعلقة مدرسة دبي البريطانية ، مدرسة بريطانية في الشرق الأوسط مدرسة متميزة ، والتي حققت أعلى تصنيف. سيكون هذا بمثابة تطور مرحب به لمجموعة مدارس تعليم ، التي كانت تسعى لإضافة مدرسة متميزة مقرها دبي لإضافتها إلى التصنيف المتميز مدرسة الراحة الدولية في أبوظبي.

JESS المرابع العربية ، الفائز في "أفضل مدرسة في الإمارات 2017-18" المرموقة "أفضل مدرسة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة XNUMX-XNUMX" ، انخفض بدرجة واحدة إلى جيد جدًا ( المدرسة الابتدائية في جميرا احتفظت بتصنيفها الرائع) كما فعلت أكاديمية دبي الدولية، مدرسة مناهج البكالوريا الدولية الشعبية. يشبه إلى حد كبير المدرسة الثانوية الهندية ، التي عانت من نفس مصير JESS Arabian Ranches وأكاديمية دبي الدولية في جولة التفتيش هذه ، في أذهاننا ، التزويد العام لـ JESS Arabian Ranches وأكاديمية دبي الدولية (إلى جانب نتائجهم الأكاديمية المتميزة)  يعني أنه بالنسبة لغالبية الآباء ، لا تزال هذه المدارس متميزة. يمكن العثور على المزيد حول جوائز SchoolsCompared.com لأفضل المدارس في الإمارات العربية المتحدة هنا.

المدارس المتبقية ذات التصنيف المتميز هي كلية دبي ، كلية دبي للناطقين بالإنجليزية ، , أكاديمية جيمس الأمريكية دبي ، مدرسة جيمس جميرا الابتدائية ، مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي ، مدرسة جيمس ويلينجتون الدولية ، كلية جميرا ، مدرسة الملوك (الابتدائية) دبي ، مدرسة الليسيه فرانسيه الدولية جورج بومبيدو (حضانة), مدرسة Lycée Francais الدولية جورج بومبيدو ، الروية و مدرسة ريبتون دبي.

كانت هناك أيضًا بعض التحسينات المرضية للمدارس التي تم ترقيتها إلى جيد جدًا لأول مرة. وشملت هذه مدرسة الملوك البرشاء ، مدرسة نورد أنجليا الدولية دبي و مدرسة الصفا الأهلية ، جميعهم حصلوا على هذا التصنيف في الفحص الثاني فقط ، وجميعهم مدارس قمنا في SchoolCompared.com بتقييمها بشكل كبير.

كما تقدمت مدرستان مناهج طويلتان في البكالوريا الدولية إلى مستوى جيد جدًا - أكاديمية جيمس العالمية ، و مدرسة جميرا بكالوريا (مدرسة شقيقة ضمن مجموعة تعليم لمدرسة دبي البريطانية المتميزة حديثًا) ، بينما  أكاديمية رافلز العالمية (شقيقة لأكاديمية دبي الدولية) ، التي تقدم منهجًا مشتركًا في البكالوريا الدولية (IB) و IGCSE ، تم تصنيفها أيضًا على أنها جيدة جدًا. المدرسة الأمريكية العالمية ، الذي يقدم منهجًا مشتركًا بين الولايات المتحدة / البكالوريا الدولية كان المدرسة الأمريكية الوحيدة التي يتم تحديثها.

كما تم ترقية ثلاث مدارس أخرى إلى جيدة جدًا. هذه كانت AFLEC - Lycee Francais International de Dubai, مدرسة فورمارك دبي (شقيقة لتصنيف المعلقة مدرسة ريبتون دبي و مدرسة فيكتوري هايتس.

GEMS_INARTICLE  

تم تفتيش ثماني مدارس لأول مرة في 2017-18 ، وحققت تقييمات جيدة ومقبولة. من بين المدارس الجيدة "الجديدة" مدرسة دبي البريطانية جميرا بارك, مدرسة هارتلاند الدولية ، مدرسة المرابع الابتدائية و ثانوية سانت ماري الكاثوليكية ، محيصنة.  مدارس أخرى تم فحصها سابقًا تم ترقيتها إلى Good هي حضانة البساتين ، مدرسة الخليج الوطنية ، مدرسة مردف الخاصة ، مدرسة ستار الدولية (مردف) ، و مدرسة المدينة.

المدارس الجديدة التي تم تصنيفها مقبولة كانت مدرسة AMLED ، مدرسة دوفيكوت الابتدائية ، و المدرسة السويسرية العلمية الدولية دبي. تدار Dovecote Primary من قبل نفس المجموعة مثل مدرسة ريبتون دبي ، في حين أن المدرسة السويسرية ، بمنهج البكالوريا الدولية ثنائي اللغة ، هي مدرسة نحن في SchoolsCompared.com. من المتوقع أن يؤدي أداءً جيدًا في أول فحص له - وبالتالي فإن التصنيف المقبول لكليهما غير متوقع إلى حد ما. ومن المفارقات ، في حين أن مدرسة ستار الدولية مردف تقدمت إلى مدرسة Good ، الشقيقة في الطوار ، نقلت التصنيفات إلى مقبول.

تم اعتبار ثلاث مدارس قد تحسنت من ضعيفة إلى مقبولة - كانت هذه كذلك  مدرسة اللغة الإنجليزية الخاصة  (منهج المملكة المتحدة) ، و المدرسة الأكاديمية الدولية ومدرسة المعارف الخاصة ، كلاهما منهج أمريكي.

يشجع موقع SchoolsCompared.com دائمًا الآباء على النظر إلى ما هو أبعد من تقييمات KHDA و ADEK. في نهاية المطاف ، تمثل التقييمات لقطة لأداء المدرسة في وقت التفتيش ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع تقييم المفتشين مقابل مجموعة من المعايير التي لا محالة أنها تركز بشكل أكاديمي. في كثير من الأحيان ، لا يقدم التصنيف العام القصة الكاملة من حيث نقاط القوة المحددة (أو نقاط الضعف) التي حددها المفتشون.

تكشف أحدث تقارير التفتيش عن بعض الإحصائيات المثيرة للاهتمام ، والعديد منها مقارنة بالوضع قبل 10 سنوات عندما بدأت عملية التفتيش لأول مرة.

بشكل عام في 2017-18 ، هناك نسبة أعلى من المدارس في دبي مصنفة على أنها جيدة وأفضل ، حيث قامت 86 مدرسة بتحسين حكم الأداء العام منذ زيارة التفتيش الأولى. أظهرت معظم المدارس تحسينات ثابتة في جميع معايير ومؤشرات الأداء تقريبًا ، على الرغم من التوقعات التي أصبحت أكثر تطلبًا على مر السنين. الآن ، 66٪ من جميع الطلاب ، و 62٪ من الطلاب الإماراتيين يدرسون في مدارس جيدة أو أفضل في دبي.

تشير التقديرات إلى أن هناك حوالي 32,000 طالب إماراتي يدرسون في المدارس الخاصة في دبي ، والمبادرات الأخيرة لتقديم المنح الدراسية تهدف إلى زيادة هذا العدد. يصبح التركيز على توفير الطلاب الإماراتيين ومعايير الأجندة الوطنية واضحًا للغاية بمجرد الكشف عن إحصاءات الطلاب المحليين. في عام 2008 ، التحق 26٪ من الطلاب الإماراتيين بمدارس جيدة أو أفضل. بحلول عام 2018 ، ارتفعت نسبة الطلاب الإماراتيين في المدارس الجيدة أو الأفضل إلى 62٪بزيادة قدرها 36 نقطة مئوية. تظهر نتائج الفحص أن الطلاب الإماراتيين هم على الأرجح سيحققون نتائج جيدة في المدارس الجيدة أو الأفضل ، خاصة في مدارس المناهج الدراسية في المملكة المتحدة.

وبالمقارنة ، تم في 2017-2018 فحص ما مجموعه 11 مدرسة خاصة في وزارة التربية والتعليم في دبي. 23٪ فقط من الطلاب الذين يلتحقون بمدرسة المناهج الدراسية في وزارة التربية والتعليم هم في مدارس جيدة أو أفضل ، بزيادة قدرها 7 نقاط مئوية فقط ، منذ أن بدأ DSIB بتفقد مدارس المناهج الدراسية في وزارة التربية والتعليم في 2008-2009.

كما تقود هذه النتائج بوضوح أولويات الأجندة الوطنية من حيث متطلبات المناهج مثل التعليم الأخلاقي ، والدراسات الاجتماعية الإماراتية واختبارات المعايير الدولية (PISA و TIMMS). تستهدف الأجندة الوطنية أن 98 ٪ من الطلاب الإماراتيين سيكملون المدرسة الثانوية وأن العديد منهم سيذهبون إلى الجامعة.

مجال آخر من الإنجازات الإيجابية يتعلق بطلاب التصميم. 66٪ من المدارس التي توفر إعانات للطلاب ذوي العزم هي الآن ذات نوعية جيدة أو أفضل. هذه زيادة بنسبة 28 نقطة مئوية مقارنة بعام 2014 عندما تم الحكم على 39٪ فقط من المدارس على هذا المستوى من الجودة. والأهم من ذلك أن 75٪ من الطلاب ذوي الإصرار ، الذين يبلغ عددهم أكثر من 10,000 ، يستفيدون الآن من التعليم داخل المدارس التي توفر جودة خدمة جيدة أو أفضل.

في 2017-2018 ، تم فحص 63 مدرسة منهجية في المملكة المتحدة في دبي. 77% الطلاب الذين يدرسون في مناهج المملكة المتحدة في مدارس جيدة أو أفضل. ويمثل هذا زيادة بنسبة 42 نقطة مئوية منذ أن بدأ دي إس آي بي عمليات التفتيش في 2008-2009. قررت هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية أن جودة القيادة هي العامل الأهم الذي يؤثر على تحسينها.

تم فحص ما مجموعه 11 مدرسة منهجية في دبي في العام الدراسي الحالي. 94% من الطلاب الذين يدرسون في مناهج البكالوريا الدولية هم في مدارس جيدة أو أفضل ، بزيادة قدرها 81 نقطة مئوية ، منذ أن بدأ DSIB في فحص مدارس مناهج البكالوريا الدولية في 2008-2009.  يُعتقد أن القيادة جيدة أو أفضل في 90٪ من مدارس مناهج البكالوريا الدولية في 2017-2018 مقارنة بـ 71٪ في 2008-2009.

تم فحص 31 مدرسة مناهج هندية في دبي. 69% من الطلاب الذين يدرسون في مدرسة المناهج الهندية في مدارس جيدة أو أفضل ، بزيادة قدرها 24 نقطة مئوية منذ أن بدأ DSIB في فحص مدارس المناهج الهندية في 2009-2010. يُعتقد أن القيادة جيدة أو أفضل في 72 ٪ من مدارس المناهج الهندية في 2017-2018 مقارنة بـ 50 ٪ في 2009-2010.

في 2017-2018 ، تم فحص 29 مدرسة مناهج أمريكية في دبي. 57% من الطلاب الذين يحضرون إحدى المناهج الدراسية الأمريكية في مدارس جيدة أو أفضل ، بزيادة قدرها 27 نقطة مئوية ، منذ أن بدأ DSIB عمليات التفتيش في 2008-2009 ، ولكن إلى حد كبير أقل من مدارس المناهج الدراسية البريطانية والهندية والبكالوريا الدولية. تشير نتائج التفتيش التي أجراها DSIB إلى أين تكون القيادة مقبولة ، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى أن مديري هذه المدارس لا يعرفون مدارسهم جيدًا.

على الرغم من التحسينات الموضحة ، لا تزال هناك 51 مدرسة مقبولة تقوم بتعليم 80,500،6 طالب و 10,000 مدارس ضعيفة تعليم 194،XNUMX طالب. ويمثل هذا ما يقرب من ربع XNUMX مدرسة خاصة في دبي و 33% من بين 266,000 ألف طالب في مدارس خاصة بالإمارة.

عند مراجعة تقارير التفتيش المدرسي ، قد يجد الآباء أيضًا أنه من المفيد ملاحظة الاستنتاجات التي توصل إليها DSIB فيما يتعلق بالمدارس التي تم تصنيفها مقبولة أو ضعيفة على مدى العقد الماضي. تم العثور بشكل عام على مشاركة العوامل المشتركة التالية:

• لا يفهم قادة المدارس بشكل كامل مبادئ وتربية الممارسات الجيدة.
• لا يركز الموظفون على التعلم النشط والتجريبى. ونتيجة لذلك ، لا يطور العديد من الأطفال والطلاب مهارات تعلم مستقلة جيدة.
• لا يستخدم قادة المدارس نتائج التقييمات المعيارية الخارجية لمقارنة نتائج طلابهم بنتائج الطلاب الآخرين دوليًا.
• لا يستخدم القادة التقييمات الداخلية والخارجية لإبلاغ خطط التحسين الخاصة بهم ، وتقييم فعالية التدريس والتعلم.
• لا يقوم المعلمون بتكييف المناهج الدراسية عبر المدرسة والمواد الدراسية ، لضمان تقدم أفضل وإدراج المهارات المطلوبة للنجاح في الامتحانات الخارجية.
• لا يستخدم المعلمون الاستراتيجيات التي تحفز الطلاب على إجراء البحوث ، أو تزويدهم بالموارد اللازمة ومهارات التعلم للقيام بذلك.
• لا يخطط المعلمون للأنشطة ، ويطرحون أسئلة بمهارة لاستنباط فهم أعمق وتعزيز التفكير النقدي. لا تتضمن المشاكل والتطبيقات المفتوحة في دروسهم وتقييماتهم.
• لا يشمل المحافظون ممثلين من مختلف أصحاب المصلحة. إنهم لا يبحثون بنشاط عن وجهات نظر أصحاب المصلحة ويأخذونها في الاعتبار من أجل اكتساب معرفة متعمقة حول المدرسة.
• لا يقوم المحافظون بمراقبة إجراءات المدرسة بشكل منهجي ويحاسبون كبار القادة على جودة أداء المدرسة ، وفقًا للنتائج المتفق عليها للطلاب.

سنشجع دائمًا الآباء على قراءة التقرير بالكامل ، لمعرفة كيفية تصنيف الأقسام والمواضيع المحددة والنظر في مدى صلة هذه الأشياء بأطفالك.  من أحدث نتائج التفتيش ، من الواضح أنه يجب على الآباء أيضًا النظر بعناية في النتائج فيما يتعلق بالقيادة والحوكمة في المدرسة وممارسة معلميها. في نهاية المطاف ، يبدو أن هذه المجالات هي مفتاح قدرة المدرسة على التحسن.

بعد ذلك ، نقترح عليك الرجوع إلى هذه النتائج من خلال مراجعات SchoolsCompared.com ، التي تزود الآباء بمجموعة من المعلومات الإضافية ، تركز على توقعاتنا لمستقبل المدارس وكذلك الأداء الحالي. هناك معلومات وفيرة لتمكين الآباء من اتخاذ قرارات موضوعية بشأن المدارس التي ستدعم بشكل أفضل تعليم أطفالهم.

نبذة عن الكاتب
ليز أونيل
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

Guides
Now Reading
KHDA Results 2017-18 – Who’s up, who’s down in the ratings
0

KHDA Results 2017-18 – Who’s up, who’s down in the ratings

by Lis ONealMay 9, 2018
The Knowledge and Human Development Authority (KHDA) has issued the results of the remaining inspections for the 2017-18 academic year. This year marks the 10th since the KHDA inspection process began in Dubai’s schools, and the overview provided by the KHDA provides a wealth of information about how the quality of education in Dubai has improved in the intervening years.  More details can be found after the updates on changes to the rankings this year.

SchoolsCompared.com has updated the complete listing so that parents can instantly identify those schools who have been upgraded, those who have not performed as well as previously, and the vast majority, who have retained their previous rating. Although a rating of Acceptable is formally the minimum rating schools are required to achieve – notably if they wish to expand – the KHDA’s aim is to ensure that all schools are rated at least Good.

The 2017-18 Asian School results are included in the listing, but for more details, read our article published at the time of the release of the results in February here. To get a better understanding of what the Inspectors are looking for, read our Guide here.

There are now 194 schools in Dubai offering 17 different curricula. Of the 166 schools inspected in Dubai in the current academic year, 14 were rated Outstanding, 27 rated Very Good, 67 rated Good, 51 Acceptable and 6 Weak. All schools rated Outstanding and Very Good, who participated in the Abundance Project last year and were not part of the 2016-17 inspection process, have been inspected this year. Notable changes among Outstanding school ratings were Dubai British School, a British Schools of the Middle East Outstanding-rated school, which achieved the highest rating. This will be a welcome development for the Taaleem Group of schools, who have been seeking the addition of a Dubai-based Outstanding school to add to the Outstanding-rated Raha International School in Abu Dhabi.

JESS Arabian Ranches, winner of the prestigious SchoolsCompared.com “Best School in the UAE 2017-18”, dropped down one grade to Very Good (the Primary School in Jumeirah retained its Outstanding rating) as did Dubai International Academy, the popular IB curriculum school. Much like The Indian High School, which suffered the same fate as JESS Arabian Ranches and Dubai International Academy in this inspection round,  to our mind, the overall provision of JESS Arabian Ranches and Dubai International Academy (coupled with their outstanding academic results)  mean that for the majority of parents, these are still outstanding schools. More on the SchoolsCompared.com Awards for the best schools in the UAE can be found here.

The remaining Outstanding-rated schools are Dubai College, Dubai English Speaking College, , GEMS Dubai American Academy, GEMS Jumeirah Primary School, GEMS Royal Dubai School, GEMS Wellington International School, Jumeirah College, Kings (Primary) School Dubai, Lycee Francais International Georges Pompidou (Nursery) School, Lycée Francais International Georges Pompidou, Al Ruwayyah and Repton School Dubai.

There were also some satisfying improvements for schools promoted to Very Good for the first time. These included Kings School Al Barsha, Nord Anglia International School Dubai and Safa Community School, all of whom achieved this rating on only their second inspection, and all of which are schools that we, at SchoolCompared.com, rate highly.

Two long-standing IB curriculum schools also made the step up to Very Good – GEMS World Academy, and Jumeira Baccalaureate School (a sister school within the Taaleem Group to newly-Outstanding Dubai British School), whilst  Raffles World Academy (sister to Dubai International Academy), which offers a combined IB and IGCSE curriculum, was also rated Very Good. Universal American School, which offers a combined US/IB curriculum was the only US curriculum school to be upgraded.

Three further schools were also promoted to Very Good.  These were AFLEC – Lycee Francais International de Dubai, Foremarke School Dubai (sister to Outstanding-rated Repton School Dubai and Victory Heights School.

Eight schools were inspected for the first time in 2017-18, and achieved ratings of Good and Acceptable. Among the “new” Good schools are Dubai British School Jumeirah Park, Hartland International School, Ranches Primary School and St. Mary’s Catholic High School, Muhaisnah.  Other previously inspected schools promoted to Good are Al Basateen Nursery, Al Khaleej National School, Mirdif Private School, Star International School (Mirdiff), and The City School.

New schools rated Acceptable were AMLED School, Dovecote Primary School, and the Swiss International Scientific School Dubai. Dovecote Primary is managed by the same group as Repton School Dubai, whilst the Swiss School, with its bi-lingual IB curriculum, is a school that we, at SchoolsCompared.com. expected to perform well in its first inspection – the Acceptable rating for both is therefore somewhat unexpected.  Ironically, whilst Star International School Mirdiff stepped up to Good, its sister school in Al Twar, moved down the ratings to Acceptable.

Three schools were have deemed to have improved from Weak to Acceptable – these were  English Language Private School  (UK curriculum), and The International Academic School and Al Maaref Private School, both US curriculum.

SchoolsCompared.com always encourages parents to look beyond the KHDA and ADEK ratings. Ultimately, the ratings represent a snapshot of a school’s performance at the time of inspection, together with the inspectors’ assessment against a range of criteria which are, inevitably, predominantly academically-focused. Often too, the overall rating does not offer the full story in terms of specific strengths (or weaknesses) that the inspectors have identified.

The latest inspection reports reveal some interesting statistics, many compared with the situation 10 years ago when the inspection process first commenced.

Overall in 2017-18, there is a higher proportion of schools in Dubai rated Good and better, with 86 schools having improved their overall performance judgment since their first inspection visit. Most schools have been showing steady improvements in almost all performance standards and indicators, in spite of expectations becoming more demanding over the years. Now, 66% of all students, and 62% of Emirati students attend Good or better schools across Dubai.

Estimates suggest that there are some 32,000 Emirati students attending private schools in Dubai, and recent initiatives to provide scholarships are aimed at increasing this number. The focus on provision for Emirati students and the National Agenda criteria becomes very clear once the statistics for local students are revealed. In 2008, 26% of Emirati students attended good or better schools. By 2018, the percentage of Emirati students in Good or better schools has grown to 62%, an increase of 36 percentage points. Inspection findings show Emirati students are most likely to achieve well in Good or better schools, especially in UK curriculum schools.

By comparison, in 2017-2018, a total of 11 private Ministry of Education (MoE) curriculum schools were inspected in Dubai. Only 23% of students who attend a MoE curriculum school are in Good or better schools, an increase of only 7 percentage points, since DSIB started inspecting MoE curriculum schools in 2008-2009.

These findings are also clearly driving the National Agenda priorities in terms of curriculum requirements such as Moral Education, UAE Social Studies and International Benchmark tests (PISA and TIMMS). The National Agenda targets that 98% of Emirati students will complete High School and that many will go on to university.

A further area of positive achievement is in relation to Students of Determination. 66% of schools providing provision for students of determination are now of a Good or better quality. This is a 28 percentage point increase when compared to 2014 when only 39% of schools were judged to be at this quality level. Importantly, 75% of students of determination, a population size of over 10,000, now benefit from being educated within schools that provide a quality of service that is good or better.

In 2017-2018, 63 UK curriculum schools were inspected in Dubai. 77% of students who attend a UK curriculum school are in Good or better schools. This represents an increase of 42 percentage points since DSIB started inspections in 2008-2009. The KHDA has determined that the quality of leadership is the most significant factor affecting their improvement.

A total of 11 IB curriculum schools were inspected in Dubai in the current academic year. 94% of students who attend an IB curriculum school are in Good or better schools, an increase of 81 percentage points, since DSIB started inspecting IB curriculum schools in 2008-2009.  Leadership is judged to be Good or better in 90% of IB curriculum schools in 2017-2018 compared to 71% in 2008-2009.

31 Indian curriculum schools were inspected in Dubai. 69% of students who attend an Indian curriculum school are in Good or better schools, an increase of 24 percentage points since DSIB started inspecting Indian curriculum schools in 2009-2010. Leadership is judged to be Good or better in 72% of Indian curriculum schools in 2017-2018 compared to 50% in 2009-2010.

In 2017-2018, 29 US curriculum schools were inspected in Dubai. 57% of students who attend a US curriculum school are in Good or better schools, an increase of 27 percentage points, since DSIB started inspections in 2008-2009, but considerably below that of UK, Indian and IB curriculum schools. DSIB Inspection findings indicate where leadership is Acceptable, it is mainly because Principals of these schools do not know their schools well enough.

Despite the improvements shown, there are still 51 Acceptable schools educating 80,500 students and 6 weak schools educating 10,000 students.  This represents almost a quarter of the 194 private schools in Dubai and 33% of the 266,000 students in private schools in the emirate.

When reviewing school inspection reports, parents may also find it helpful to note the conclusions reached by the DSIB in relation to schools that have been rated Acceptable or Weak over the past decade. They have generally been found to share the following common factors:

• School leaders do not fully understand the principles and pedagogy of good practice.
• Staff do not focus on active and experiential learning. As a result, many children and students do not develop good independent learning skills.
• School leaders do not use results from the external benchmarking assessments to compare their students’ outcomes with those of other students internationally.
• Leaders do not use internal and external assessments to inform their improvement plans, and to evaluate the effectiveness of teaching and learning.
• Teachers are not adapting the curriculum across the school and subjects, to ensure better progression and inclusion of the skills required to succeed in external examinations.
• Teachers do not use strategies that motivate students to conduct research, or provide them with the necessary resources and learning skills to do so.
• Teachers do not plan activities, and skillfully ask questions to elicit deeper understanding and promote critical thinking. They do not include open-ended problems and applications in their lessons and assessments.
• Governors do not include representation from different stakeholders. They do not actively seek and consider stakeholders’ views in order to gain in-depth knowledge about the school.
• Governors do not systematically monitor the school’s actions and hold senior leaders to account for the quality of the school’s performance, according to agreed outcomes for students.

We would always encourage parents to read the report in full, to see how specific sections and subjects have been rated and consider how relevant these may be to your children.  From the latest Inspection findings, it is clear that parents should also consider carefully the findings in relation to the leadership and governance of the school and the practice of its teachers. Ultimately, these areas appear to be the key to the ability of a school to improve.

Then, we suggest you cross-reference these findings with SchoolsCompared.com’s reviews, which provide parents with a range of additional information, focused on our expectations of schools’ future as well as current performance. There is plentiful information to enable parents to make objective decisions on schools that will best support their children’s education.

About The Author
Lis ONeal

Leave a Reply