دليل
قراءة الآن
مستويات القراءة للأطفال ليست في المكان الذي يجب أن تكون فيه بعد الوباء - والأهل هم المفتاح لحل المشكلة. إليك ما يمكنك فعله لسد فجوة التعلم خلال الإجازة الصيفية
0

مستويات القراءة للأطفال ليست في المكان الذي يجب أن تكون فيه بعد الوباء - والأهل هم المفتاح لحل المشكلة. إليك ما يمكنك فعله لسد فجوة التعلم خلال الإجازة الصيفية

by تابيثا بردا12 يوليو، 2022

هناك أدلة في جميع أنحاء العالم على أن مستويات القراءة لدى الأطفال قد تأثرت بشكل كبير بالاضطراب الناجم عن الوباء. أزمة القراءة التي كانت تحدث بالفعل قبل Covid تفاقمت بسبب الإغلاق المطول في جميع أنحاء العالم ، مع واحدة دراسة في المملكة المتحدة وجدت أن 68٪ من الأطفال الذين كانوا في FS2 عندما ضرب الوباء في 2019/2020 لم يكونوا يقرؤون بالمستوى المتوقع لأعمارهم بحلول نهاية العام الأول في عام 2021.

إنه سيء ​​بنفس القدر في الولايات المتحدة ، حيث أ دراسة واسعة النطاق من 400,000 من طلاب المدارس الابتدائية وجدوا ثغرات كبيرة في مهارات القراءة الأساسية للأطفال ، مع أكثر من 1 من كل 3 تلاميذ لا يفي بمعالم القراءة المتوقعة لأعمارهم - وهو اتجاه يزداد سوءًا كلما كان الطفل أصغر سنًا ، ويتحسن قليلاً من 5th درجة صعودا.

في حين عادت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى المدرسة بسرعة أكبر بكثير من أجزاء أخرى من العالم ، وكان توفير التعليم عبر الإنترنت عالي الجودة بشكل عام ، إلا أن الأطفال لم يخرجوا سالمين تمامًا من هذا الاضطراب. أخبر المعلمون في دبي المدارس ، مقارنةً بأنهم لاحظوا أنه في جميع المجالات - ولكن بشكل خاص في الطلاب الأصغر سنًا - لم تكن مستويات قراءة الأطفال في المكان الذي قد تكون فيه عادةً ، وقد عالجت العديد من المدارس المشكلة بشكل مباشر من خلال برامج مكثفة ومخصصة لجلب الأطفال حتى السرعة.

إيما مونتيث ، رئيسة قسم اللغة الإنجليزية ، مدرسة جيمس فيرست بوينت - الفيلا (FPS) يقول:

لقد لاحظنا أن الوباء قد زاد من قدرة الطلاب على القراءة. أولئك الذين كانوا قراء مترددين أو أولئك الذين يتعلمون اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة إضافية قد تأثروا سلبًا من خلال تعطيل وقت التعلم أثناء الوباء. ومع ذلك ، لدينا بعض القراء المتحمسين والمتحمسين للغاية ، وقد أتاح الوباء لهؤلاء الطلاب مزيدًا من الوقت لتكريسهم لقراءتهم ".

لا يمكن التقليل من تأثير صعوبة القراءة على تعليم الطفل ورفاهيته مارتن كول ، نائب مدير المدرسة في مدرسة الأفق الإنجليزية، ويحتاج مقدمو خدمات التعليم إلى معالجة أي مشكلات بشكل مباشر:

لا ينبغي ترك تعلم القراءة للصدفة ؛ من المرجح أن تؤثر ثقة الطفل في القراءة على التحصيل في جميع مجالات المناهج الدراسية ، وعلى تقديره لذاته وتمتعه بالمدرسة ككل. ونتيجة لذلك ، يعد التدريس الفعال والدقيق للقراءة أمرًا ضروريًا لجميع الطلاب ، كما أن هناك فنًا وعلمًا لتعليم القراءة ".

المدارس تأخذ زمام المبادرة

لدى كل من مدرسة Horizon English و GEMS FirstPoint مجموعة وفيرة من برامج محو الأمية والتكنولوجيا لمساعدة الطلاب ، والتي تم استخدامها بشكل جيد في معالجة أي مشكلات قراءة ظهرت في أعقاب الوباء. إيما مونتيث ، مديرة قسم اللغة الإنجليزية ، مدرسة GEMS FirstPoint - The Villa (FPS) يقول:

Kings_Interhigh_MPU5

"لدينا برامج قوية وراسخة لدعم القراءة داخل الفصل مثل القراءة التبادلية ، بالإضافة إلى الاستثمار في برامج محددة لتكنولوجيا التعليم للقراءة مثل Renaissance Accelerated Reader و Common Lit ، والتي تمكن مدرسينا من تقديم تحسينات مخصصة لسن القراءة على جميع المستويات."

بالنسبة إلى GEMS FPS - وهي مدرسة تقوم بتدريس الطلاب حتى سن 18 عامًا - لا ينتهي تحسين القراءة عند المستوى الابتدائي:

"نحن ملتزمون بضمان تمدد الأطفال على جميع المستويات لتطوير مهاراتهم في القراءة ، ومن خلال برامجنا الرئيسية في المرحلة الخامسة ، نقدم مواد قراءة محددة على مستوى الجامعة لدعم الطلاب في تأمين كفاءة القراءة الحاسمة التي ستدعمهم ما بعد الحياة في FPS . "

وبالنسبة لغير الناطقين باللغة الإنجليزية والذين لديهم تحديات في القراءة باللغة الإنجليزية ، هناك دعم مخصص:

"بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لدينا قسم مخصص للغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية مع موظفين متخصصين يقدمون دروسًا تدعم بخبرة الطلاب الجدد في اللغة الإنجليزية. نحن نستخدم برامج مثل Lexia ، والتي دعمت أساسيات تعليم القراءة والكتابة لطلاب اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية. "

لكن الأمر لا يتعلق فقط بالتكنولوجيا ، كما يقول مارتن كول من مدرسة هورايزون الإنجليزية. خاصة بالنسبة للأطفال الأصغر سنًا ، تتمثل الطريقة الأكثر فاعلية في بعض الأحيان في إعادتها إلى الأساسيات والتأكد من أن الدروس ممتعة:

"من الضروري أن يتلقى الأطفال تعليمًا صوتيًا منهجيًا عالي الجودة لتطوير فك تشفيرهم. ولكن بدلاً من إخبار الأطفال بمعنى المفردات غير المألوفة ، نعلمهم قراءة المحققين باستخدام مجموعة من استراتيجيات القراءة لمساعدتهم على التعامل بشكل مستقل مع لغة غير مألوفة ".

علاوة على ذلك ، نحن نعلم أن دروس القراءة يجب أن تكون ممتعة ، وبالتالي يتم التخطيط للدروس بكل بساطة للقيام بذلك. يقوم المعلمون عمدًا بنمذجة القراءة كعملية ممتعة بحيث يرغب الأطفال في فعل الشيء نفسه بأنفسهم ".

لماذا الآباء هم مفتاح النجاح في القراءة

ولكن بينما تمتلئ مدارس الإمارات العربية المتحدة ببرامج ممتازة في الصوتيات ومحو الأمية ، فإن الشيء الوحيد الذي يتفق عليه جميع المعلمين هو أن مشاركة الوالدين هي جزء مهم من تعلم الأطفال للقراءة.

مونيث من مدرسة جيمس فيرست بوينت - الفيلا يقول:

"مشاركة الوالدين أمر حيوي. في الواقع ، تُظهر الدراسات والأبحاث أن مشاركة الوالدين هي العامل الأكثر أهمية في معرفة القراءة والكتابة الناشئة لدى الأطفال الصغار ، وبالتالي فإن تزويد الآباء بهذه المعرفة والبحث مهم بالنسبة لنا ".

هناك عدد كبير من الدراسات المقنعة التي توضح ذلك. على سبيل المثال ، كل ثلاث سنوات ، يقوم برنامج التقييم الدولي للطلاب (PISA) باختبار الطلاب البالغين من العمر 15 عامًا في الدول الرائدة في العالم على فهمهم للقراءة ومهارات أخرى مهمة. توصلت دراسة عام 2009 التي يُستشهد بها كثيرًا إلى بعض الاكتشافات الرائعة التي تؤكد التأثير العميق الذي يمكن أن تحدثه مشاركة الوالدين في القراءة منذ سن مبكرة على مستقبل الطفل بأكمله.

ووجدت الدراسة أن الطلاب البالغين من العمر خمسة عشر عامًا والذين غالبًا ما كان آباؤهم يقرأون الكتب معهم خلال السنة الأولى من المدرسة الابتدائية ، أظهروا درجات أعلى بشكل ملحوظ بعد ما يقرب من عقد من الزمان في سن 15 من الطلاب الذين يقرأ آباؤهم معهم بشكل غير متكرر أو لا يقرأون على الإطلاق ؛ في المتوسط ​​، كان فارق الدرجات 25 نقطة ، وهو ما يعادل أكثر من نصف عام دراسي.

اكتشفت الدراسة أيضًا أن القراءة تتجاوز حدود الفصل والمال ، مع ظهور ميزة الأداء بين الطلاب الذين قرأ آباؤهم لهم في سنوات الدراسة المبكرة بغض النظر عن الخلفية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية للأسرة.

لذلك ، من المهم أن تركز برامج القراءة المبكرة للمدارس ، لا سيما على التعلم داخل البيئة المدرسية ، ولكن أيضًا على إشراك الآباء وإبلاغهم أيضًا - وهو أمر تم تسليط الضوء عليه خلال فترات التعلم عن بعد للوباء.

نائب مدير مدرسة هورايزون الإنجليزية مارتن كول يقول:

"منذ الوباء ، اتخذنا إجراءات إضافية ومدروسة لتطوير جودة تجارب القراءة لطلابنا في المنزل."

"هناك شيء ما كان ناجحًا بشكل خاص منذ انتشار الوباء وهو دعوة أولياء الأمور لرؤية معلمهم أو مساعد التدريس وهم يقرأون 1 إلى 1 مع أطفالهم."

"من خلال رؤية النهج المتبع في المدرسة ، يمكن للوالدين بعد ذلك تكرار عناصر معينة من الجلسة في المنزل."

"يعمل هذا أيضًا كجلسة تدريب للوالدين ويوفر فرصة للآباء لمشاهدة جلسة قراءة من 1 إلى 1 أولاً قبل طرح أسئلة حولها."

"يتم تزويد الآباء أيضًا بهيكل قائم على الأدلة ويمكنهم بعد ذلك اتباعه في المنزل عند القراءة مع أطفالهم لجعل تجاربهم في القراءة مفيدة قدر الإمكان."

سد فجوة التعلم في الصيف

على الرغم من أن الصيف هو وقت رائع لتجربة فرص التعلم خارج الفصل الدراسي ، بحث وجد أن الطلاب يميلون إلى فقد متوسط ​​شهر واحد من التعلم المدرسي خلال الإجازة الممتدة - وهو أمر يشار إليه باسم خسارة التعلم في الصيف أو الانتكاسة الصيفية ، مما يعني أن الطلاب يبدأون العام الدراسي الجديد بمستويات تحصيل أقل مما كانت عليه قبل عطلة الصيف.

أحد الأخبار السارة للآباء القلقين بشأن قراءة الأطفال الأصغر سنًا هو أن الدراسات تُظهر أن تراجع المعرفة يميل إلى أن يكون أكثر حدة في الرياضيات منه في القراءة ، ويميل إلى أن يكون أسوأ عند الأطفال الأكبر سنًا منه في الأطفال الأصغر سنًا.

ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للأطفال الذين لم يتم إثبات قراءتهم بشكل كامل بعد ، أو الذين عانوا من انتكاسات بسبب الاضطرابات الوبائية ، يمكن أن تؤدي الإجازة لمدة شهرين بسهولة إلى مزيد من الانتكاسات ، وهي فترة زمنية ثمينة يتم خلالها تعزيز التعلم وغرس حب القراءة من أجل المتعة - هدية ستستمر في إعطائها للأطفال طوال حياتهم.

مونتيث GEMS FPS يقول:

نصيحتي للآباء هي إجراء محادثات إيجابية حول القراءة في المنزل خلال فصل الصيف. يمتص الأطفال الكثير من سلوكهم من البالغين ، وإذا تمكنت العائلات من مناقشة الكتب والقراءة في المنزل ، فقد يكون هذا حافزًا كبيرًا للأطفال ".

"تخصيص وقت للقراءة مع الأطفال ومشاركة قصص ما قبل النوم يمكن أن يعزز حب القراءة الذي يبقى مع الأطفال أثناء نموهم".

"بالنسبة للمراهقين الذين قد يكونون أكثر ترددًا في القراءة ، يقدم المشاهير مثل السير ليني هنري نصيحة ذكية للآباء لتشغيل الترجمة عندما يشاهد الأطفال التلفزيون - لذا فهم على الأقل يقرؤون بالتناضح!"

شارلوت جريفز ، مديرة مؤقتة ، مدرسة جيمس رويال دبي يذكر الآباء بأن دورهم لا يقتصر على القراءة مع طفلك فقط:

"كن نموذجًا يحتذى به في القراءة ؛ لا يمكننا أن نتوقع أن يجلس أطفالنا ويقرأون ويستمتعون بالكتب إذا لم نقم بنمذجة نفس السلوك مثل الكبار. شارك حب القراءة واجعلها وقتًا مميزًا داخل عائلتك ".

لماذا يجب تعليم الآباء كيفية القراءة مع أطفالهم

في حين أنه قد يبدو من البديهي كيف تقرأ مع طفلك ، إلا أنها مهارة مكتسبة ، وبعض سلوكياتك البديهية قد تمنع في الواقع تعلم أطفالك من التقدم بأسرع ما يمكن.

يشارك مارتن كول ، نائب مدير المدرسة في مدرسة هورايزون الإنجليزية ، نصائحه:

"في حين لا توجد توصية نهائية ذات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع من حيث التكرار لعدد المرات التي يجب على الأطفال قراءتها أو قراءتها في المنزل ، فإن الدليل التقريبي هو الانخراط في القراءة 5 مرات في الأسبوع لمدة 15-20 دقيقة تقريبًا. "

"واحدة من أكبر المخاطر التي يمكن أن يفعلها البالغون عند الاستماع إلى قراءة طفل هو المقاطعة بشكل متكرر ، وبالتالي تجريد الطفل من استقلاليته وتقليل الاستمتاع بتجربة القراءة في النهاية. بدلاً من ذلك ، يجب منح الأطفال الفرصة لتصحيح قراءتهم بأنفسهم ".

6 طرق بسيطة لجعل جلسات القراءة في المنزل سلسة وفعالة

  1. قليل الكلام

يقول مارتن كول ، نائب مدير مدرسة هورايزون الإنجليزية: "اترك مساحة ووقتًا للطفل لفك رموز الكلمات الصعبة وحلها بشكل مستقل".

  1. شجع مهاراتهم البوليسية

إذا كان الطفل يعاني من كلمة معينة ، فهناك العديد من الاستراتيجيات التي يمكنك استخدامها قبل إخباره بالإجابة. إذا كانت الكلمة طويلة ، يمكنك أن تقترح عليهم تجربة "Chunking" ، أي عندما يستخدمون أصابعهم لتقسيم الكلمة إلى أصواتها المنفصلة. إذا كانوا ينطقون صوتًا بطريقة تمنعهم من فك تشفير الكلمة ، فاقترح عليهم استخدام معرفتهم الصوتية للتفكير في أي أصوات بديلة يمكن أن يصدرها حرف معين.

  1. حقا ، في الواقع ، استمع

قد يبدو هذا واضحًا ولكن استثمر وقتك في التركيز على طفلك عندما يقرأ ، وبناء ثقته بنفسه من خلال السماح له بمواصلة القراءة حتى لو ارتكب خطأ. بمجرد الانتهاء من المقطع أو الفقرة ، يمكنك أن تطلب منهم العودة وإلقاء نظرة على الكلمة مرة أخرى.

  1. شجع الاستقلال

دع الأطفال يمسكون بالكتاب بأنفسهم - على الرغم من إغراء وجود طفلك في حضنك أثناء القراءة معًا ، فمن الأفضل لهم أن يمسكوا الكتاب بشكل مستقل ، وأن يتتبعوا الكلمات بأصابعهم بدلاً من أصابعك.

  1. استخدم لغة إيجابية
    يقول مارتن كول ، نائب مدير مدرسة هورايزون الإنجليزية: "اللغة المستخدمة عند القراءة مع الأطفال تساهم بشكل كبير في جودة تجربة القراءة." بدلاً من مجرد الثناء العام ، استخدم ملاحظات إيجابية محددة تشير إلى الجهد الذي يبذله في قراءتهم. يقول هورايزون كول: "إن عبارات مثل:" أحب الطريقة التي صححت بها هذه الجملة بمفردك "أو" أحسنت للتوقف من أجل التوقف الكامل "يمكن أن تساعد في خلق تجربة قراءة إيجابية.
  2. اهدف إلى الاستمتاع

يقول مارتن كول: "من المهم إتاحة الوقت للأطفال للاستمتاع بقراءتهم". يمكن أن يكون النظر إلى الصور أو التحدث عن تفسيرهم لقراءتهم جزءًا مهمًا وجذابًا من العملية ". من الأفضل دائمًا قراءة كتاب يتحدى الأطفال بالمستوى الصحيح ؛ قراءة الكتب التي تكون صعبة للغاية بالنسبة لطفلك يمكن أن تقوض الثقة. إذا كان الطفل يعاني بالفعل من كتاب ، فاطلب منه أن يخبرك "قصة مصورة" من خلال النظر إلى الصور بدلاً من ذلك ".

يستنتج كول:

"بالنسبة للأطفال الذين يفتقرون إلى الثقة في القراءة ، فإن الطريقة الجيدة لخلق تجربة قراءة ممتعة هي قراءة نص مألوف تمت قراءته من قبل. وهذا يمكن أن يتيح قدرًا أكبر من الاستقلال ويطور احترامهم لذاتهم في القراءة ".

© SchoolsCompared.com. 2022. جميع الحقوق محفوظة.

نبذة عن الكاتب
تابيثا بردا
تابيثا باردا هي رئيسة تحرير موقع SchoolsCompared.com. تلقى تعليمه في أوكسبريدج وصحفي حائز على جوائز في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لأكثر من عقد من الزمان ، ويعد تابيثا أحد الأضواء الساطعة في المنطقة في كل ما يتعلق بالتعليم في الإمارات. بصفتها أمًا ، فهي متحمسة لمساعدة الوالدين - والعثور على القصص التي تستحق روايتها في التعليم. وهي مسؤولة عن مكتب الأخبار المزدحم على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع ، والمجالس الاستشارية واللجان المتخصصة لدينا - وتقرير المدرسة الخاص بموقع SchoolsCompared.com - وهو التقرير الأسبوعي العالمي حول ما يهم في تعليم أولياء الأمور والذي يتم نشره كل يوم جمعة ، ومراجعة المدارس في جميع أنحاء الإمارات العربية المتحدة - و الميزات المتعلقة بالمسائل المهمة حقًا. يمكنك غالبًا العثور على Tabitha على موقع Parents United - مجلس مجتمع Facebook الخاص بنا ، والذي يناقش أحدث قضايا المدارس والتعليم مع مجتمع الآباء في الإمارات العربية المتحدة - وخارجها.
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

Guides
Now Reading
Children’s Reading levels are not where they should be after the pandemic – and parents are key to solving the problem. Here’s what you can do to plug the learning gap over the summer vacation
0

Children’s Reading levels are not where they should be after the pandemic – and parents are key to solving the problem. Here’s what you can do to plug the learning gap over the summer vacation

by Tabitha BardaJuly 12, 2022

Across the world there is evidence that children’s reading levels have been significantly impacted by the disruption caused by the pandemic. The reading crisis that was already happening before Covid has been exacerbated by prolonged lockdowns across the world, with one UK study finding that 68% of children who had been in FS2 when the pandemic hit in 2019/2020 were not reading at the expected level for their age by the end of Year One in 2021.

It’s equally bad in the US, where a large-scale study of 400,000 Elementary School students found big holes in children’s fundamental reading skills, with more than 1 in 3 pupils not meeting expected reading milestones for their age – a trend that gets worse the younger the child is, and improves slightly from 5th grade upwards.

While the UAE returned to school much more swiftly than many other parts of the world, and the online education provision was generally of a very high quality, children have still not emerged totally unscathed by the disruption. Teachers in Dubai have told SchoolsCompared they’ve noticed that across the board – but especially in younger students – children’s reading levels were not where they might usually be, and several schools have tackled the problem head-on with dedicated, intensive programmes to bring children up to speed.

Emma Monteith, Head of English, GEMS FirstPoint School – The Villa (FPS) says:

“We have noticed that the pandemic has magnified students’ aptitude in reading. Those who were reluctant readers or those who are learning English as an additional language have been negatively impacted by the disruption to learning time during the pandemic. That said, we have some very avid and enthusiastic readers, and the pandemic has afforded those students more time to devote to their reading.”

The impact of struggling to read on a child’s education and wellbeing cannot be underestimated, says Martin Cole, Deputy Headteacher at Horizon English School, and education providers need to tackle any issues head-on:

“Learning to read should not be left to chance; a child’s reading confidence is highly likely to impact on attainment in all curriculum areas, their self-esteem and their enjoyment of school as a whole. As a result, the effective, rigorous teaching of reading is essential for all students and there is both an Art and a Science to teaching reading.”

Schools taking the lead

Both Horizon English and GEMS FirstPoint School have a cornucopia of literacy programmes and technology to help students, which have been put to good use in tackling any reading issues that have emerged in the wake of the pandemic. Emma Monteith, Head of English, GEMS FirstPoint School – The Villa (FPS) says:

GEMS_INARTICLE  

“We have strong and established programmes of in-class reading support like Reciprocal Reading, as well as investment in specific reading EdTech programmes like Renaissance Accelerated Reader and Common Lit, which enable our teachers to deliver bespoke reading-age improvements at all levels.”

For GEMS FPS – which is an all-through school teaching students up to the age of 18 – reading improvement doesn’t end at Primary level:

“We are committed to ensuring children at all levels are stretched to develop their reading skills, and so through our Key Stage 5 programmes we offer specific university-level reading materials to support students in securing critical reading competence that will support them beyond life at FPS.”

And for non-native English speakers who have challenges reading in English, there is tailored support:

“Additionally, we have a specific ESL department with specialist staff who deliver lessons that expertly support students who are new to English. We use programmes like Lexia, which has supported the literacy basics of our ESL students.”

But it’s not only about the technology, says Martin Cole from Horizon English School. Especially for younger children, sometimes the most effective technique is bringing it back to basics and making sure the lessons are fun:

“It is essential that children receive high quality systematic phonics teaching to develop their decoding. But instead of telling children the meaning of unfamiliar vocabulary, we teach them to be reading detectives, using a range of reading strategies to help them independently tackle unfamiliar language.”

“Furthermore, we know that reading lessons should be fun and consequently lessons are planned quite simply to do just that. Teachers deliberately model reading as an enjoyable process so that children want to do the same themselves.”

Why parents are the key to reading success

But while UAE schools are brimming with excellent phonics and literacy programmes, one thing that all educators agree on is that parental involvement is a crucial part of children learning to read.

Moneith of GEMS FirstPoint School – The Villa says:

“Parental involvement is vital. In fact, studies and research show that parental involvement is the most important determinant of emergent literacy in young children, and so equipping parents with this knowledge and research is important for us.”

There is a plethora of compelling studies that illustrate this. For example, every three years, the Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) tests 15-year-olds in the world’s leading nations on their reading comprehension and other important skills. The oft-cited 2009 study made some fascinating discoveries that underlines the profound impact that parental involvement in reading from a young age can have on a child’s entire future.

It found that fifteen year-old students whose parents often read books with them during their first year of Primary school showed markedly higher scores almost a decade later at the age of 15 than students whose parents read with them infrequently or not at all; on average, the score difference was 25 points, which would be the equivalent of well over half a school year.

The study also discovered that reading transcends class and financial boundaries, with the performance advantage among students whose parents read to them in their early school years being evident regardless of the family’s socioeconomic background.

It’s important, therefore, for schools’ early reading programmes especially not only to be focused on learning within the school environment, but also on engaging and informing parents too – something that was put under the spotlight during the distance learning periods of the pandemic.

Horizon English School Deputy Headteacher Martin Cole says:

“Since the pandemic, we have made additional and deliberate actions to develop the quality of our students’ reading experiences at home.”

“Something that has been particularly successful since the pandemic has been inviting parents in to see their teacher or teaching assistant read 1 to 1 with their own child.”

“By seeing the approach taken in school, parents can then replicate certain elements of a session at home.”

“This also acts as a parent coaching session and provides an opportunity for parents to first watch a 1 to 1 reading session before asking questions about it.”

“Parents are also provided with an evidence-informed structure which they can then follow at home when reading with their child to make their reading experiences as beneficial as possible.”

Bridging the summer learning gap

Although the summer is a wonderful time to experience learning opportunities outside of the classroom, research has found that students tend to lose an average of one month’s school-learning over the extended vacation – something referred to as summer learning loss or summer setback, which means students start the new academic year with achievement levels that are lower than they were before the summer break.

One piece of good news for parents concerned about younger children’s reading is that studies show the decline in knowledge tends to be sharper in maths than in reading, and it tends to be worse in older children than younger ones.

However, for children whose reading is not yet fully established, or who experienced set-backs due to pandemic disruption, the two-month vacation could easily lead to further set-backs, and it is a valuable period of time during which to solidify learning and inculcate a love of reading for pleasure – a gift that will keep giving to children throughout their life.

GEMS FPS’s Montieth says:

“My advice for parents is to create positive conversations around reading at home over summer. Children absorb so much of their behaviour from adults, and if families can discuss books and reading at home this can be a huge motivator for children.”

“Making time to read with children and share bedtime stories can foster a love of reading that stays with children as they grow up.”

“For teens who may be more reluctant to read, celebrities like Sir Lenny Henry offer a clever tip for parents to turn on subtitles when children are watching TV – so they at least read by osmosis!”

Charlotte Grieves, Interim Principal, GEMS Royal Dubai School reminds parents that their role is not limited to just reading with your child:

“Be a role model for reading; we cannot expect our children to sit, read and enjoy books if we do not model the same behaviour as adults. Share the love of reading and make it a special time within your family.”

Why parents need to be taught how to read with their children

While it might seem self-evident how to read with your child, it’s an acquired skill, and some of your intuitive behaviours could actually be preventing your children’s learning from progressing as quickly as it otherwise would.

Martin Cole, Deputy Headteacher at Horizon English School, shares his tips:

“Whilst there is no definitive one-size-fits-all recommendation in terms of frequency for how often children should read or be read to at home, an approximate guide is to engage in reading 5 times per week for approximately 15-20 minutes.”

“One of the biggest pitfalls that adults can make when listening to a child read is to interrupt too frequently, therefore stripping the child of their independence and ultimately reducing the enjoyment of the reading experience. Instead, children should be given the opportunity to self-correct their own reading.”

6 Simple Ways to Make Home Reading Sessions Smooth and Effective

  1. Talk less

“Allow space and time for a child to decode and solve challenging words independently,” says Martin Cole, Deputy Headteacher of Horizon English School.

  1. Encourage their detective skills

If a child is struggling with a particular word, there are several strategies you can use before telling them the answer. If it is a long word you can suggest they try ‘Chunking’, which is when they use their finger to break up the word into its separate sounds. If they are pronouncing a sound in a way that is stopping them from decoding the word,  suggest that they use their phonics knowledge to think about any alternative sounds a particular letter can make.

  1. Really, actually, listen

This might sound obvious but invest your time in focusing on your child when he or she reads, and build their confidence by allowing them to continue reading on even if they make a mistake. Once they finish the section or paragraph you can ask them to go back and look at the word again.

  1. Encourage independence

Let children hold the book themselves – as tempting as it is to have your child on your lap while you read together, it’s best for them to hold the book independently, and trace the words with their own fingers rather than with yours.

  1. Use Positive language
    Martin Cole, Deputy Headteacher of Horizon English School says: “The language used when reading with children contributes significantly towards the quality of the reading experience.” Instead of just general praise, use specific positive feedback that refers to the effort they are putting into their reading. Horizon’s Cole says: “Phrases like: ‘I like the way you corrected that sentence on your own’ or ‘Well done for pausing for a full stop’ can help create a positive reading experience.
  2. Aim for enjoyment

“Allowing time for children to enjoy their reading is important,” says Martin Cole. Looking at pictures or talking about their interpretation of their reading can be an engaging and important part of the process.” It’s always better to read a book that challenges children at the right level; reading books that are too hard for your child’s stage can undermine confidence. If a child is really struggling with a book, ask them to tell you a ‘picture story’ by looking at the images instead.”

Cole concludes:

“For children that lack confidence in reading, a good way to create an enjoyable reading experience is to read a familiar text that has been read before. This can enable greater independence and develop their reading self-esteem.”

© SchoolsCompared.com. 2022. All rights reserved.

About The Author
Tabitha Barda
Tabitha Barda is the Senior Editor of SchoolsCompared.com. Oxbridge educated and an award winning journalist in the UAE for more than a decade, Tabitha is one of the region's shining lights in all that is education in the emirates. A mum herself, she is passionate about helping parents - and finding the stories in education that deserve telling. She is responsible for the busy 24x7 News Desk, our Advisory Boards and Specialist Panels - and SchoolsCompared.com's The School's Report - the global weekly round up of what matters in education for parents which is published every Friday, reviewing schools across the UAE - and features on issues that really matter. You can often find Tabitha on Parents United - our Facebook community board, discussing the latest schools and education issues with our parent community in the UAE - and beyond.

Leave a Reply