دليل
قراءة الآن
التسلط. لست وحدك. هذا ليس صحيحًا أبدًا. نقطة. تقرير خاص مقارنة بالمدارس.
0

التسلط. لست وحدك. هذا ليس صحيحًا أبدًا. نقطة. تقرير خاص مقارنة بالمدارس.

by ميلاني سوان4 أغسطس 2020

الخلفية - البلطجة. انت لست وحدك. تقرير المدارس المقارنة الخاص.

بينما يستعد أطفالنا للعودة إلى المدرسة في سبتمبر ، ستكون التجربة أكثر بهجة بالنسبة للبعض أكثر من البعض الآخر. قد يكون لدى العديد من التجارب السلبية غموض موقفهم تجاه عودة سبتمبر إلى الفصل ، بأي شكل قد يتخذه. ومع ذلك ، من بين الأسباب العديدة التي قد تجعل أطفالنا متوترين بشأن العودة إلى المدرسة ، لا ينبغي أن يكون التنمر أحد هذه الأسباب. في عالم اليوم أيضًا ، تطور حتى معنى التنمر وازداد تعقيدًا. لا يمكن أن يكون الفصل الدراسي فقط مكانًا مخيفًا. أحدث البيانات من Comparitech، وجدت أن التنمر عبر الإنترنت عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والرسائل النصية والألعاب ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني كان ثاني أكثر أشكال التنمر شيوعًا بعد ذلك في المدرسة.

مع تزايد انتشار التسلط عبر الإنترنت ، تقوم المدارس والحكومة ، لحسن الحظ ، باتخاذ خطوات لمعالجة ما يبدو أنه ظاهرة ضارة بنفس القدر ؛ التنمر الإلكتروني. وسبب تصرفات المدارس والحكومات هو أن هذا الجيل يغير لحسن الحظ كتاب القواعد بحيث لم يعد من المقبول تغطيته أو مسحه تحت السجادة.

 

ماذا تقول المدارس

تيموثي روبرتس ، مدير أكاديمية رافلز العالمية يقول إن حالات البلطجة السيبرانية تتزايد في المجتمع ، وبينما يقضي الأطفال مزيدًا من الوقت على الإنترنت ، فإن هذا الطريق يتسع:

"كما هو الحال مع جميع أنواع التنمر ، غالبًا ما يكون هناك اختلال في توازن القوة بين الأطفال المعنيين وبالنظر إلى الانتشار والوصول إلى منصات الاتصال ، يكون من الصعب للغاية مراقبة ومراقبة".

في Raffles World Academy ، تعقد المدرسة حلقات دراسية متكررة للأطفال والآباء والأمهات لفهم ظاهرة الأمان السيبراني والتخفيف من حدتها ، مع سياسة الاستخدام الآمن للإنترنت التي يوقعها الآباء والأطفال. يوضح روبرتس:

"غالبًا ما تستخدم كلمة البلطجة أو السيبرانية أو غيرها بطريقة خاطئة ومتكررة. يجب التأكيد على أن هناك اختلافًا كبيرًا بين الأطفال الذين يقصدون بعضهم البعض في بعض الأحيان ، والتسلط ، الذي يتكرر ومتواصل وعادة ما ينبع من اختلال توازن القوة ".

على عكس نوع التنمر الذي يحدث في الملعب أو في الفصل الدراسي ، يقول أن البلطجة الإلكترونية أكثر خبثًا إلى حد ما ، حيث تحدث في عزلة وفي غرف نوم الأطفال وخارج ساعات الدراسة العادية.

مع وجود الأطفال على الإنترنت لساعات عديدة أكثر من المعتاد كل يوم ، من المحتمل ، على الأقل في مرحلة ما ، أن وصولهم إلى منصات التواصل سيكون غير مقيد ولن يخضع للرقابة من قبل الآباء ، وبالتالي ، فإن احتمال الصراع ينشأ بشكل كبير ، كما يقول.

إذن ، أين تنتهي مسؤولية المدرسة وتبدأ مسؤولية الوالدين؟

أخبر السيد روبرتس SchoolsCompared.com:

"إن تعليم الطفل هو حقا شراكة بين المدرسة وأولياء الأمور."

وبسبب هذا فإن خطوط المسؤولية غير واضحة بسهولة. تابع جبل روبرتس:

"في أكاديمية رافلز العالمية ، نؤمن بالعمل بشكل تعاوني مع أولياء الأمور ، مع جعل مصالح الطفل الفضلى في قلب كل ما نقوم به. والأهم من ذلك هو قبول المسؤولية المزدوجة وغرس مجموعة مشتركة من القيم والقواعد حول استخدام التكنولوجيا لضمان صحة الأطفال وسلامتهم ".

سارة هيدجر ، رئيسة قسم حماية الطفل وحماية الطفل للتعليم GEMSأخبر موقع SchoolsCompared.com أنه حتى أثناء التعلم عن بُعد ، كان على الممارسات مواكبة التغيير:

"حتى خلال هذا الوقت غير المسبوق من COVID-19 والقيود المصاحبة له ، لا يزال لدى المدارس وأولياء الأمور نفس المسؤوليات تجاه الحفاظ على سلامة الأطفال وسعادتهم كما فعلوا قبل بدء التعلم عن بعد. لم يكن دعم الأطفال وتعليمهم اللطف والمرونة وتمكينهم من البقاء على اتصال أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى.

تمت مراجعة جميع أنظمة وعمليات تعليم GEMS ذات الصلة ، وقد قامت المدارس بتكييف مناهجها لدعم الأطفال عندما لا يرى الموظفون الطلاب شخصيًا. وهذا يشمل فحوصات إضافية للرفاهية ، وتعزيز ما يجب فعله إذا كان الطالب أو البالغ قلقًا بشأن شيء ما ، وإنشاء مساحات وأنظمة للقيام بذلك فعليًا ".

وتقول إن التواصل حول الموضوع هو المفتاح ، مما يضمن أنه لا يصبح من المحرمات للأطفال للمشاركة وطلب المساعدة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لا يمكن المبالغة في زيادة الوعي. واصلت السيدة هيدجر:

"يضمن نهجنا معرفة الطلاب والبالغين بكيفية التعرف على سلوك التنمر والإبلاغ عنه ، وكيفية الإبلاغ عن المواد المسيئة أو غير المناسبة عبر الإنترنت. نحن نعمل أيضًا مع أولياء الأمور عندما يتم تحديد المشكلات وإشراك أحد الطلاب ".

 

الآثار المترتبة على الصحة

الدكتورة هبة كشمولا أخصائية طب الأسرة في مركز ميدكير الطبي بالشارقة، يوضح أن التنمر قد تم تحديده باعتباره أحد أكبر التهديدات التي يتعرض لها الصغار. يتوافق هذا مع حكم مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض والوقاية منها (CDC) الذي ينص على أن التنمر يؤثر على حوالي 20٪ من طلاب المدارس الثانوية. التأثير على هؤلاء الأطفال هو اعتداء مباشر على سلامتهم النفسية والسلوكية والجسدية.

قال الدكتور كشمولا لموقع SchoolsCompared.com إن الإمارات العربية المتحدة لعبت دورًا كبيرًا في معالجة التنمر وجهاً لوجه. تعطي كمثال برنامج مكافحة التنمر الذي أنشأته الشيخة فاطمة بنت مبارك ، رئيس المجلس الأعلى للأمومة والطفولة ، بالتعاون مع اليونيسف ووزارة التربية والتعليم ومجلس أبوظبي للتعليم.

"يمكن أن تختلف تأثيرات البلطجة من كونها نتيجة قصيرة المدى يمكن التعرف عليها إلى نتيجة طويلة المدى. تشمل الآثار قصيرة المدى العزلة الاجتماعية ، حيث لا يتمكن الضحية من التواصل مع زملائه بسبب تدني احترام الذات الناجم عن التنمر. تأثير آخر متكرر على المدى القصير هو اضطرابات النوم ، والتغيرات في عادات الأكل ، وتجنب المدرسة ، وبالتالي تدهور ملحوظ في الأداء في المدرسة. يمكن أن تسود الأعراض النفسية الجسدية أيضًا ، وتشمل آلام المعدة والصداع وآلام العضلات ".

الدكتورة هبة كشمولا أخصائية طب الأسرة في مركز ميدكير الطبي بالشارقة

تعد المخاطر طويلة المدى أكثر إثارة للقلق ، وعندما لا يتم القضاء على التنمر ، يمكن أن يكون التأثير على الأطفال هو الاكتئاب المزمن واضطرابات القلق والصراعات في تكوين الصداقات والعلاقات والميول المتزايدة للأفكار والسلوك الانتحاري - بالإضافة إلى السلوك المباشر محاولات الانتحار من قبل الأطفال.

البلطجة أيضًا لا تعرف حدود العمر:

عادة ما يحدث التنمر بين المراهقين الأصغر سنًا ومن هم دون سن المراهقة ويبدأ في التلاشي في سنوات المراهقة اللاحقة. ومع ذلك ، هناك جوانب أكثر قتامة للتنمر عندما لا يتم تقليصها في وقت مبكر. غالبًا ما نرى التنمر في سلسلة متصلة. تبلغ ذروتها بين الصف الرابع والخامس. في الصف السادس والسابع تقريبًا ، غالبًا ما يتحول التنمر إلى تحرش جنسي مع بلوغ المراهقين سن البلوغ. بحلول المدرسة الثانوية ، يمكن أن يتحول إلى عنف المواعدة ".

د. هبة كشمولا. متخصص. طب الأسرة. مركز ميدكير الطبي الشارقة.

 

الفروق بين الجنسين

يوضح الدكتور كشمولا أن مظاهر التنمر تختلف حسب الجنس. الأولاد أكثر جسدية ، والفتيات أكثر لفظية. في حين أن الأولاد أكثر في العراء ، والقتال في الرواق ، فإن الفتيات أكثر حماسة ، وهذا هو المكان الذي يناسب فيه التنمر الإلكتروني النوع الأنثوي أكثر شيوعًا من الأولاد ، كما يقول الطبيب. "البلطجة السيبرانية (البلطجة خلف الشاشة) شائعة في كلا المجموعتين ، لكن الفتيات يشاركن فيها بشكل متكرر. وهذا على الأرجح لأنه يمكن أن يكون مخفيًا أو مجهولاً ".

يقوم الفتيان بالتنمر على حد سواء الفتيان والفتيات ، في حين أن الفتيات في الغالب يستسلمون الفتيات الأخريات:

"الفتيات أقل عرضة للتنمر على الأولاد من أقرانهم. ومع ذلك ، سوف يتنمر الأولاد إما الفتيان أو الفتيات. لدى النساء رغبة طبيعية في التواصل مع الآخرين ويمكن أن يتحول ذلك إلى شعور بأنه يجب على الفتيات التنافس على هذه البقع. ومع ذلك ، يتم إخبار الفتيات أنه ليس من المقبول اجتماعيًا أن يقاتلن جسديًا أو يعرضن سلوكيات عدوانية في العراء ، ولذا فإنهن غالبًا ما يقاتلن الفتيات الأخريات بشكل أكثر سلبية.

د. هبة كشمولا. متخصص. طب الأسرة. مركز ميدكير الطبي الشارقة.

ملاك كامل ، المدير السريري وأخصائي علم النفس المرخص من CDA في مركز Thrive Wellbeing، يقول إن القوانين والإجراءات التي تتخذها الحكومة ترفع الوعي بأسباب التنمر - ولكن أيضًا التمثيل. تنص المادة 21 من المرسوم الاتحادي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في 5/2012 على أن الجرائم السيبرانية ، بما في ذلك التسلط عبر الإنترنت ، هي يعاقب عليها بغرامة أو حتى بالسجن. يوفر الأسبوع الوطني لمنع التنمر من وزارة التربية والتعليم برامج للتوعية والتدخل عبر المدارس.

إنه تحد مشترك للمدارس وأولياء الأمور. تقول: "نحن جميعًا مسؤولون". "المدارس مسؤولة عن تنفيذ برامج الوقاية والتدخل التي تعالج التنمر وتثقيف الطلاب حول هذه المشكلة ، والآباء مسؤولون عن أن يكونوا قدوة نشطة ضد التنمر ، وتثقيف أطفالهم بشأن احترام الآخرين ورعايتهم."

تعاون مركز Thrive Wellbeing مع العديد من المنظمات لمعالجة هذه المخاوف ، وعقد ورش عمل مع مئات الطلاب وأولياء أمورهم. شهدت حملة مكافحة التنمر لقاء كامل مع أكثر من 2,000 طالب لتثقيفهم حول آثار التنمر. تشمل أشكال الدعم الأساسية الأخرى ورش العمل المدرسية حول الاستخدام الصحي للتكنولوجيا الإلكترونية والسلامة عبر الإنترنت ، والتي تقدمها الدكتورة علا بيكتينا. من بين هؤلاء ، يعالج الخبراء السبب الجذري للتنمر. يوضح كامل أن الأطفال الذين يمارسون التنمر غالبًا ما يعانون من ضغوطاتهم وصدماتهم ، سواء كان ذلك في بيئاتهم الاجتماعية أو المنزلية. "تثقيف الأطفال والأسر والمجتمع حول المنافذ الصحية للضغوط هو المفتاح في منع انتشار السلوكيات العدوانية" ، كما تقول.

 

المراقبة الأبوية

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالسلامة عبر الإنترنت ، تكون النصيحة واضحة ؛ الضوابط هي المفتاح. اكتشف خبراء الأمن السيبراني كاسبيرسكي ، في استطلاع كاسبرسكي العائلي للحملة العائلية ، أن 35٪ فقط من الآباء يستخدمون حلول الرقابة الأبوية ، مع 50٪ فقط من الآباء يتحققون من جهاز أطفالهم بعد الاستخدام. سواء كانت تتبع المخاطر عبر الإنترنت ، أو تتبع مكان وجود الطفل أو تحديد وقت الشاشة ، فإن النصيحة واضحة ؛ الضوابط هي مفتاح مكافحة أخطار عالم الإنترنت المتزايد باستمرار.

ولكن ، كما يعلم الكثير منا كما يعلم الآباء ، فإن قدرتنا على حجب العالم عن الأطفال بهذه الطريقة مع تقدمهم في السن لا تعمل ببساطة. الأطفال الأكبر سنا لن يقفوا وراء ذلك.

 

الحد الأدنى؟ حكم المدارس مقارنة بالبلطجة

يجب أن يتوقف التنمر في المدرسة أو خارجه من خلال البلطجة ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

معظمنا ، كآباء ، قد عانى من التنمر في مرحلة ما من حياتنا. أولئك منا المحظوظون بما يكفي للنجاة من المدرسة سالمين من التنمر (ولن يكون كثيرًا) ، سيكونون قد عانوا من ذلك في مكان العمل ، بين "الأصدقاء" ، أو حتى داخل العائلات. ما يربط بين أي تجربة تنمر هو الرعب المطلق منها. غالبًا ما يكمن هذا الرعب في إحساسنا بالعجز في مواجهة العمل على كيفية التعامل معه.

سيطلب منا أطفالنا حتمًا في مرحلة ما إجابات حول كيفية التعامل مع المتنمر. في الأيام الخوالي ، ربما كان "القتال أو الهروب" قد قدمه الآباء - لكنه لم يعد يجزم به كحل - ونادرًا ما ينجح اليوم ، هذا إذا حدث على الإطلاق.

ينصح بعض الآباء أطفالهم بالرد. نادرًا ما يتوقع المتنمرون ذلك. لكن المدارس لا تدافع عن هذا النهج - ويمكن أن ينتهي غالبًا بظلم أطفالنا ، أنفسهم ، أو وصفهم بأنهم متنمرون أو أسوأ من ذلك. إذا قاوم أطفالنا وأصابوا طفلًا آخر أيضًا ، فيمكنهم ، دون عمد ، هل حقا يؤذيهم وقد لا يكون من السهل التعافي من تأثير ذلك - سواء من حيث عقوبة المدرسة (أو الحكومة) ، أو دخول طفل آخر إلى المستشفى. إنه ليس مجرد نهج آمن للآباء للدعوة إلى العنف كحل - حتى لو كان نهجًا دعت الأجيال الأكبر سنًا لتحقيق فوز سريع.

لا تجد لغة "التشديد" مكانًا سهلاً اليوم سواء في المدرسة أو خارجها - وسيشعر العديد من الآباء أن هذا أمر جيد. يبدو أن العنف هو الحل الذي يؤدي في النهاية إلى إدامة الرعب بدلاً من تقليله - وتعليم أطفالنا أن العنف هو حل لأي شيء يبدو بربريًا.

في حياتنا القديمة ، غالبًا ما يكون الحل "الأسهل" ضد المتنمر هو الهروب. نحن نغير الوظائف. نترك العلاقات. نتجنب الفتوة إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا. لكننا دائمًا ما ندفع ثمناً باهظاً للغاية للقيام بذلك ، وهذا يأتي مع شعور بالظلم. لا ينبغي أن نتوقع هذا من أطفالنا. لا ينبغي إجبار أي طفل على ترك المدرسة بفعل تصرفات الفتوة.

على الرغم من صعوبة الدعوة ، فإن الحل الوحيد للتسلط في المدارس ، في رأينا ، يكمن في النهاية مع المدارس. نحتاج إلى مدارس لإدارة التنمر وإيقافه في مساراته. ولدينا الحق في توقع ذلك. أفضل المدارس ليس لديها مشكلة تنمر - الثقافة تجعل الأمر مستحيلاً.  

ستتصرف أفضل المدارس على الفور إذا تم الإبلاغ عن التنمر. قد يكون طفلك غير مرتاح لأنك تتدخل نيابة عنه. لكن لا يجب عليك التدخل. إذا وجدت نفسك في هذا الموقف فقد فات الأوان. تخلق أفضل المدارس الوعي بأن الإبلاغ عن التنمر هو عمل شجاع ويجعل من الطبيعي للأطفال الإبلاغ عنه دون قلق. لا يوجد أي حكم على الطفل الذي يبلغ عن ذلك - ولا يتم التسامح مع ثقافة "الزحف" أو "الحكاية". إذا وجد طفلك نفسه في مدرسة يتعرض فيها للتنمر ، فالحقيقة هي أن المدرسة قد خذلتهم. أنه ليس خطأهم. الثقافة فشلت. إذا أبلغ ابنك أو ابنتك عن ذلك ، فيجب القضاء عليه. فورا. لا ifs و buts.

إن السؤال عن كيفية تعامل المدرسة مع التنمر عند زيارتك لمدرسة للنظر فيها لتعليم أطفالك هو ، كما نعتقد ، سؤالًا حيويًا يجب طرحه. الإجابات التي تتلقاها ستخبرك - وبالتأكيد يجب على المدرسة التي ليست بالأبيض والأسود في هذه القضية أن تراك تركض إلى التلال.

إذا كانت هناك رسالة واحدة عن التنمر فهي أنه ليس له ما يبرره على الإطلاق وأنه خاطئ دائمًا. قد يكون هناك أسباب لكون المتنمر متنمرًا. قد يحتاجون إلى مساعدة. لكن هذه ليست مشكلتك أو مشكلة طفلك. إنها قضية مدرسة. أفضل المدارس لا تسمح ببدء التنمر. يتم إجراء التدخلات قبل أن تكتسب الحياة. تسود ثقافة اللطف وليس الخوف. وعندما يحدث الاستثناء الذي يثبت القاعدة ، يتم استبعاده.

إن فهم أن التنمر خطأ دائمًا هو المكان الوحيد للبدء. المدرسة تزيل المشكلة هو المكان الوحيد لإنهاء.

 

© SchoolsCompared.com 2020. جميع الحقوق محفوظة.

 

 

 

 

 

 

نبذة عن الكاتب
ميلاني سوان
ميلاني سوان ، مراسلة المشاريع الخاصة على SchoolsCompared.com ، هي صحفية أخبار وميزات بارعة ، تقدم لدورها أكثر من عقدين من الخبرة في إعداد التقارير حول ما يهم حقًا في مواجهة الفحم في حياة البشر. بدأت حياتها المهنية في News of The World ، وهي جزء من News International ، في لندن عام 2002 ، قبل أن تنتقل إلى Sunday People في عام 2005. بعد أن استأجرت للانضمام إلى فريق إطلاق The National في أبو ظبي ، جاءت السيدة Swan إلى الإمارات العربية المتحدة في 2008 ، وبقيت مع ذا ناشيونال لمدة 9.5 سنوات. وقالت لنا: "عندما تكون هناك قصة مهمة في التعليم تحتاج إلى إعداد التقارير ، فأنا هناك للتأكد من أن قراء موقع SchoolsCompared.com يحصلون عليها أولاً".
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

Guides
Now Reading
Bullying. You are Not Alone. It is Never Right. Full Stop. A SchoolsCompared Special Report.
0

Bullying. You are Not Alone. It is Never Right. Full Stop. A SchoolsCompared Special Report.

by Melanie SwanAugust 4, 2020

Background – Bullying. You are Not Alone. A SchoolsCompared Special Report.

As our children prepare to return to school in September, the experience will be more joyful for some, than others. Many may have negative experiences clouding their attitude towards September’s return to class, in whatever form that may take. Of the many reasons, however, that our children may be nervous about returning to school, bullying should never be one of them. In today’s world too, even the meaning of bullying has evolved and grown in complexity. It is not only the classroom which can be a scary place. Recent data from Comparitech, found that online bullying across the likes of social media, text messaging, gaming and emails was the second most common form of bullying after that taking place at school.

As online bullying becomes ever-more prevalent, schools, and the government, are, thankfully, taking steps to tackle what appears to be an equally damaging phenomena; cyber bullying. And the reason why schools and governments are acting is that this generation is fortunately changing the rule book so that it is no longer acceptable to cover it up or sweep it under the carpet.

 

What The Schools Say

Timothy Roberts, Principal at Raffles World Academy says instances of cyber bullying are increasing in society and, as children spend more time online, this avenue widens:

“As with all bullying, there is often an imbalance of power between the children involved and given the prevalence, and access to communication platforms, it is incredibly difficult to monitor and control.”

At Raffles World Academy, the school holds frequent seminars for children and parents to understand and mitigate the phenomenon of cyber safety, with an internet safe use policy which parents and children sign. Mr Roberts explains:

“Often, the word bullying, cyber or otherwise, is used erroneously, and frequently. It must be stressed there is a huge difference between children being mean to each other on occasion, and bullying, which is repeated and persistent and usually stems from a power imbalance.”

Unlike the kind of bullying which takes place on the playground or in the classroom, he says cyber bullying is rather more insidious, taking place in isolation, in children’s bedrooms, and outside normal school hours.

With children online for many more hours than usual every day it becomes likely, at least at some point, that their access to communication platforms will be unrestricted and not monitored by parents, thus, the potential for conflict arises exponentially, he says.

So, where does the responsibility of the school end and the responsibility of the parents begin?

Mr Roberts told SchoolsCompared.com:

“The education of the child is truly a partnership between the school and the parents.”

It is because of this that the lines of responsibility are easily blurred. Mt Roberts continued:

“At Raffles World Academy, we believe in working collaboratively with parents, with the child’s best interests at the centre of all that we do.  What is more important is to accept dual responsibility, and inculcate a shared set of values and rules around the use of technology, to ensure the health and safety of children.”

Sara Hedger, Head of Child Safeguarding and Child Protection for GEMS Education, told SchoolsCompared.com that even during distance learning, practices have had to keep up with change:

“Even during this unprecedented time of COVID-19 and the restrictions that come with it, schools and parents still have the same responsibilities towards keeping children safe and happy as they did before remote learning began. Supporting children and teaching them kindness, resilience and enabling them to remain connected has never been more important.

All related GEMS Education systems and processes have been reviewed, and schools have adapted their approaches to supporting children when staff are not seeing students in person. This involves additional well-being check-ups, reinforcing what to do if a student or adult is worried about something, and creating spaces and systems to do that virtually.”

She says communication around the topic is key, ensuring it does not become a taboo for children to share and seek help. In addition, awareness raising can never be overdone. Ms Hedger continued:

“Our approach ensures students and adults know how to recognise and report bullying behaviour, and how to report offensive or inappropriate online material. We also work with parents when issues are identified and involve a student.”

 

The Implications On Health

Dr. Hiba Kashmoola, Specialist Family Medicine at Medcare Medical Centre in Sharjah, explains that bullying has been identified as one of the biggest threats for youngsters.  The aligns with the verdict of the Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) which states that bullying impacts about 20% of high school students. The impact on these children is a direct assault on their psychological, behavioural and physical well-being.

Dr Kashmoola told SchoolsCompared.com that the UAE has played a great role in tackling bullying head-on. She gives as an example the anti-bullying programme established by Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak, President of The Supreme Council for Motherhood & Childhood, in collaboration with UNICEF, Ministry of Education and Abu Dhabi Education Council.

“Bullying impacts could vary from being a short term recognisable outcome to a long-term outcome. Short term effects include social isolation, in which the victim is unable to socialise with his or her colleagues due to the low self-esteem caused by bullying. Another very frequent short-term effect is sleep disturbances, changes in eating habits, school avoidance and therefore a noticeable deterioration performance in school. Psychosomatic symptoms can also prevail, and include stomach aches, headaches and muscle aches.”

Dr. Hiba Kashmoola, Specialist Family Medicine at Medcare Medical Centre in Sharjah

Long-term risks are even more worrying and, when bullying is not stamped out, the impact on children can be can be chronic depression, anxiety disorders, struggles forming friendships and relationships, increased tendencies for suicidal thoughts and behaviour – as well as the direct attempts by children to take their own lives.

Bullying also no knows boundaries of age:

“Bullying usually occurs among younger teens and pre-teens and begins to fade by the later teen years. There are however, darker sides to bullying when not curtailed early on. We often see bullying on a continuum. It peaks between 4th and 5th grade. Around 6th and 7th grade, bullying often becomes sexual harassment as teens go through puberty. By high school, it can morph into dating violence.”

Dr. Hiba Kashmoola. Specialist. Family Medicine. Medcare Medical Centre Sharjah.

 

Gender Differences

Dr Kashmoola explains that the manifestations of bullying vary by gender; boys more physical, girls more verbal. While boys are more in the open, fighting in the hallway, girls are more furtive, and this is where cyber bullying suits the female gender type more commonly than boys, says the doctor. “Cyber bullying (bullying behind a screen) is common in both groups, but girls participate in it more frequently. This is likely because it can be hidden or anonymous,” she explains.

Boys will bully both boys and girls, while girls mostly bully other girls:

“Girls are less likely to bully boys than their peers. However, boys will bully either boys or girls. Women have a natural desire to connect with others and that can turn into a sense that girls must vie for these spots. Yet girls are told it is not socially acceptable to physically fight or display aggressive behaviours in the open, and so they often fight other girls more passively.”

Dr. Hiba Kashmoola. Specialist. Family Medicine. Medcare Medical Centre Sharjah.

Malak Kamel, Clinical Director & CDA Licensed Psychologist at Thrive Wellbeing Centre, says the laws and actions of the government are raising awareness of the causes of bullying – but also acting. Article 21 of the UAE Federal Decree Law in 5/2012 states that cyber crimes, including cyberbullying, are punishable by a fine or even jail term. The UAE Ministry of Education’s National Bullying Prevention Week provides awareness and intervention programs across schools.

It is a joint challenge though, for schools and parents. “We are all responsible,” she says. “Schools are responsible for implementing prevention and intervention programmes that address bullying and educating students about the issue, and  parents are responsible for being active role models against bullying, and educating their children about respect and care for others.”

Thrive Wellbeing Centre has collaborated with several organisations to address these concerns, conducting workshops with hundreds of students and their parents. The anti-bullying campaign has seen Kamel meeting with over 2,000 students to educate them on the impacts of bullying. Other essential supports include school workshops on healthy cyber technology use and online safety, provided by the clinic’s Dr. Ola Pykhtina. Amongst these, the experts address the root cause of bullying. Children who bully are often experiencing their own stress and trauma, be it in their social or home environments, explains Kamel. “Educating children, families, and society about healthy outlets for stressors is key in preventing the spread of aggressive behaviours”, she says.

 

Parental Controls

When it comes to online safety, the advice is clear; controls are key. Cyber security experts Kaspersky, in the global Kaspersky Family Campaign survey, found that just 35% of parents use parental control solutions, with just 50% of parents checking their children’s device after use. Whether tracking dangers online, tracking a child’s whereabouts or limiting screen time, the advice is clear; controls are key in fighting the dangers of the ever increasing online world.

But, as many of us as parents know, our ability to block out the world for children in this way as they get older simply does not work. Older children will not stand for it.

 

Bottom line? The SchoolsCompared verdict on bullying

Bullying in school or outside it through cuberbullying and social media must stop

Most of us, as parents, will have experienced bullying at some point in our lives. Those of us lucky enough to have survived school unscathed by bullying (and it will not be many), will have experienced it in the workplace, amongst “friends”, or even within families. What links any experience of bullying is the absolute horror of it. That horror often lies in our sense of powerlessness in the face of working out how to deal with it.

Our children at some point will inevitably ask us for answers on how to deal with the bully. In the old days “fight or flight” might have been offered by parents – but it no longer cuts it as a solution  – and it rarely works today, if it ever did at all.

Some parents do advise their children to fight back. Bullies rarely expect that. But schools do not advocate this approach – and it can often end in the injustice of our own children, themselves, being labelled as bullies or worse. If our own children fight back and hurt another child too, they could, whilst not deliberately, really hurt them and the impact of this may not be easy to recover from – whether in terms of school (or government) sanction, or another child being hospitalised. It’s just not a safe approach for parents to advocate violence as a solution – even if it’s an approach older generations advocated for a quick win.

The language of “toughen up” does not find an easy place today either in school or outside it – and many parents will feel this is a good thing. Violence seems to be a solution that ultimately perpetuates horror rather than diminishing it – and teaching our children that violence is a solution to anything seems barbaric.

In our older lives the “easiest” solution against the bully is often flight. We change jobs. We leave relationships. We avoid the bully if it is possible. But we almost always pay a very high price for doing this and it comes with a sense of injustice. We should not expect  this of our children. No child should be forced from their school by the actions of a bully.

As tough as it may well be to advocate, the only solution to bullying in schools, in our view, ultimately lies with schools. We need schools to manage bullying, to stop it in its tracks. And we have a right to expect this. The best schools do not have a bullying problem – the culture makes it impossible.  

The best schools will act immediately if bullying is reported. Your child may be uncomfortable you making an intervention on their behalf. But you should not have to make an intervention. If you find yourself in this position it is too late. The best schools create awareness that reporting bullying is an act of courage and make it natural for children to report it without worrying. There is no judgement to be made on the child that reports it – and a culture of “creeping” or being the “tell tale” is not tolerated. If your child find himself or herself in a school where they are bullied, the reality is that the school has failed them. It is not their fault. The culture has failed. If your son or daughter reports it, it should be stamped out. Immediately. No ifs and buts.

Asking how a school deals with bullying when you visit a school to consider it for your children’s education is, we think, a vital question to ask. The answers you receive will be telling – and certainly a school that is anything but black and white on the issue should see you running for the hills.

If there is a single message about bullying it is that it is never justified and always wrong. It may well be that there are reasons for a bully being a bully. They may well need help. But this is not your issue, or that of your child. It is a school’s issue. The best schools do not allow bullying to start. Interventions are made before it gathers life. A culture of kindness dominates, not fear. And when the exception that proves the rule does occur, it is stamped out.

Understanding that bullying is always wrong is the only place to start. The school’s taking away the problem is the only place to end.

 

©SchoolsCompared.com 2020. All rights reserved.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About The Author
Melanie Swan
Special Projects Reporter on SchoolsCompared.com, Melanie Swan is an accomplished news and features journalist, bringing to her role more than two decade's experience of reporting on what really matters at the coal face of human lives. She began her career at the News of The World, part of News International, in London in 2002, before moving to the Sunday People in 2005. Hired to join the launch team of The National in Abu Dhabi, Ms Swan came to the UAE in 2008, and stayed with The National for 9.5 years. "Where there is an important story in Education that needs reporting,"she told us, "I am there to ensure that SchoolsCompared.com readers get it first."

Leave a Reply