دليل
قراءة الآن
أفضل مدارس الفنون والموسيقى والفنون المسرحية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. الجزء 1. دليل SchoolsCompared.com لأولياء الأمور 2021.
الفنون والموسيقى والدراما
0

الخلفية: أفضل مدارس الفنون والموسيقى والفنون المسرحية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة. دليل 2021 SchoolsCompared.com لأولياء الأمور 2021.

في الماضي ، كانت موضوعات مثل الموسيقى والفنون والفنون المسرحية والدراما تعتبر موضوعات "ناعمة". تم تصوير الصور النمطية بشكل متباين على أنها أكثر قليلاً من متعة الأوقات الماضية وغالبًا ما تكون مصفوفة في الأنشطة اللاصفية ، كانت حكمة بعض المدارس (والحكومات) أن هذه التخصصات لم تكن مفيدة تربويًا ، ولا مفيدة بالضرورة لمستقبل الطلاب أو احتياجات الأعمال التجارية و صناعة. والأسوأ من ذلك ، أن العديد من الطلاب الذين درسوا (وتفوقوا) في هذه التخصصات ، إذا كانوا محظوظين بما يكفي للعثور على مدرسة داعمة ، غالبًا ما يُنظر إليهم على أنهم من الدرجة الثانية مقارنة بأقرانهم الأكاديميين المتفوقين.

لا يزال التركيز على مواد EBacc ، والمنهج الأساسي المفترض لموضوعات مهمة "حقًا" ، لا يساعد في حل الأمور مع المدارس الأضعف التي تستخدم غالبًا مناهج دراسية مقيدة مع خيارات محدودة للموضوع كرافعة لضمان نتائج أفضل - ولكن بتكلفة كبيرة لتلك المدارس العديد من الأطفال الذين تكمن مواهبهم في مكان آخر.

ومع ذلك ، فإن التصور والقيمة التي توضع على هذه التخصصات لم يتغيروا فحسب - بل انعكسوا الآن.

يُفهم الآن أن هذه الموضوعات أساسية تمامًا لنمو الطفل بالكامل - وأداة حيوية في الوصول إلى المهارات ذات الأهمية الحاسمة لنا جميعًا في مرحلة البلوغ. إن المهارات اللينة التي تأتي مع الفنون هي التي تُمنح عبر الصناعة والتي تدرك اليوم أن أكثر الأفراد نجاحًا داخل المؤسسة هم أولئك الذين لديهم هذا المزيج الهائل من مهارات الاتصال المتميزة والإبداع والذكاء العاطفي - والقدرة على الابتكار التي هي أساسي جدًا للطلاب الموهوبين في الفنون - ويصعب قياسه في النطاق المقيد للاختبارات.

في الولايات المتحدة ، وجدت دراسة أجراها مكتب الولايات المتحدة للتحليل الاقتصادي والصندوق الوطني للفنون في عام 2019 أن الفنون ساهمت بنحو 763.6 مليار دولار في الاقتصاد الأمريكي - 4.2 في المائة من الناتج المحلي الإجمالي - أكثر من الزراعة أو النقل أو التخزين.

في المملكة المتحدة ، تم حساب الناتج الاقتصادي للفنون والأنشطة الترفيهية والثقافية بشكل متحفظ بنحو 10.47 مليار جنيه إسترليني من إجمالي القيمة المضافة ، وهو ما يعادل حوالي 0.5٪ من الاقتصاد البريطاني. كان معظم هذا ، حوالي 7.92 مليار جنيه إسترليني ، من قطاع الفنون والترفيه.

وضعت الاستثمارات في ثقافة الأحداث والبنية التحتية الأوسع المرتبطة بالفنون دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في طليعة القطاع في العالم العربي على مستوى العالم. في حين أن بيانات الناتج المحلي الإجمالي التي يمكن مقارنتها بسهولة غير متوفرة ، فإن قوة الفنون معلن عنها باعتبارها محورية لمهمة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لترسيخ مكانتها كمركز تجاري رائد بين الشرق والغرب ، وتوفر تمييزًا رئيسيًا عن المنافسة من سنغافورة من دار الأوبرا إلى متحف اللوفر أبوظبي. من La Biennale di Venezia إلى LitFest؛ من الحي الثقافي في شارع السركال في دبي إلى إنجازات مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون. ومن F1 إلى Expo 2020 ، الفنون موجودة في كل مكان. بالنسبة للكثيرين منا ، تتألق الإمارات بالطريقة التي تعمل بها على وجه التحديد بسبب الثراء الثقافي الذي أصبح يعرفها. إن نقد الإمارات العربية المتحدة كعالم بلاستيكي خالٍ من الجوهر أو عمق الثقافة قد فقد أي مادة منذ زمن بعيد.

جوائز أفضل المدارس

"الدولة التي تفقد تراثها وثقافتها تخاطر بحاضرها ومستقبلها"

الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان

فيما يلي قائمة المدارس التي تلبي أو تتجاوز المستوى الأكثر تميزًا في مجال الفنون الإبداعية بترتيب أبجدي. تقدم كل مدرسة مدرجة شيئًا استثنائيًا للأطفال عبر هذه التخصصات.

  • مدرسة الراحة الدولية
  • المدرسة الأمريكية في دبي
  • كلية برايتون أبو ظبي
  • المدرسة البريطانية الدولية أبوظبي. مدرسة تعليم نورد أنجليا.
  • المدرسة البريطانية بالخبيرات
  • مدرسة كرانلي أبوظبي
  • كلية دبي
  • كلية دبي للتخاطب بالإنجليزية
  • مدرسة دبي للتخاطب بالانجليزية
  • كلية جيمس جميرا
  • أكاديمية جيمس ويلينجتون واحة السيليكون
  • مدارس الملوك البرشاء

بالطبع ، تسبب فيروس Covid 19 في إحداث فوضى خاصة في التعليم. لقد سلط الضوء ، في المقدمة والمركز ، على مدى الأهمية المركزية للفنون الإبداعية في الحياة الثقافية لكل دولة ، واقتصاداتها - وليس أقلها ، دورها الأساسي في رعاية الصحة العقلية للناس. تحت Covid 19 ، نمت الفنون الإبداعية في مكانتها باعتبارها العملة الأكثر عالمية في العالم ، وهي عملة تجلب الوحدة حيث تنقسم العملات. إن دعوات الاقتصاديين للبدء في قياس التأثيرات الاقتصادية من حيث القيم بدلاً من القيمة تأتي دون أدنى شك بسبب الإحساس بالخسارة الذي يشعر به الكثير منا لأن كوفيد دمر الفنون.

إذن ، لم يكن دعم الفنون في مدارسنا أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى. إنها ببساطة ليست شيئًا يمكننا أن نخسره.

على هذا الأساس ، لا تستحق كل مدرسة من المدارس التالية فضلًا كبيرًا على إنجازاتها للأطفال فحسب ، بل تستحق أيضًا دعم دورها في الخطوط الأمامية في ضمان رعاية الهدايا الإبداعية لجيلنا المستقبلي للمجتمعات والعالم. أمامهم.

 

منهج فنون لأكثر من الطلاب الموهوبين

"الجميع عبقري.

ولكن إذا حكمت على سمكة من خلال قدرتها على تسلق شجرة ، فستعيش حياتها كلها معتقدة أنها غبية ".

البرت اينشتاين

المدرسة التي تدمج الفن والموسيقى والفنون المسرحية في مناهجها الأساسية ، مع نفس القدر من النشاط والاهتمام مثل المواد التي تم تكريمها تقليديًا (الرياضيات واللغة الإنجليزية والعلوم والتكنولوجيا) ، هي مدرسة لا تفهم فقط أن الطالب الموهوب للإبداع والأداء يستحق تعليمًا يلبي تمامًا مجموعة مهاراتهم وآفاقهم ، ولكن هذا الدور الأساسي أيضًا للتعليم واسع النطاق في تنمية جميع الأطفال. إنها مدرسة تدرك أن مستقبل أي مجتمع يكمن في ريادته وليس في عقله وطموحه المحافظين.

بصراحة ، لن تجد أيًا من المدارس المتميزة التابعة لهيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية أو مجلس أبوظبي للتعليم ، بغض النظر عن المناهج الدراسية ، لا تستثمر بشكل كبير في مجموعة واسعة من المناهج الدراسية وخيارات المواد للطلاب التي تشمل الفنون في جوهرها وفي جوهرها. يمكن القول إن نمو الطفل بالكامل والاتساع الاستثنائي لتوفير المواد هي السمات المميزة المحددة للوضع المدرسي المتميز للهيئات التنظيمية التعليمية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

 

منهج شمولي

إن امتلاك برنامج غني ويمكن الوصول إليه للفنون الجميلة والموسيقى والتصميم والتصوير والنحت والفخار والفنون المسرحية يعني أكثر من تأسيس منهجية تعليمية على مبادئ STEAM. يتطلب استثمارات جادة. من الناحية العملية ، يمكن أن يعني هذا كل شيء من مسارح الصندوق الأسود واستوديوهات التسجيل إلى استوديوهات الرقص والاستثمار عبر طيف الآلات الموسيقية. عند فحص عروض المدارس ، أخذنا في الاعتبار مستوى الاستثمار الذي قدمته المدارس والدليل على التزامها المستمر بالاستثمار.

كما يعني تدريس تاريخ الفن والفنون الجميلة وفنون التصوير والسينما والمسرح والرقص وفنون الوسائط المتعددة. وهذا يعني جذب المعلمين الموهوبين وطاقم الدعم بالمهارات اللازمة لتقديم دروس حديثة وديناميكية وعاطفية وصعبة تلبي أعلى قاسم.

أخيرًا ، نعتقد أيضًا أن هذا يعني التعرف على تلك المدارس التي تجعل الفنون المسرحية وثقافة الفنون الأوسع جزءًا لا يتجزأ من هوية مدرستهم ، والاعتراف بتلك المدارس التي تجعل الفنون رافعة لتعزيز قيم المدرسة ، والاستفادة منها كآلية رئيسية للإدماج و دافع للابتكار والفهم متعدد التخصصات.

 

الفوائد العامة للفنون والموسيقى والفنون المسرحية

ليس سراً أن المشاركة في الفنون المسرحية والفنون الأوسع تجني ثمارها. تم إجراء دراسات لا حصر لها خلصت إلى أن مشاركة الطفل في الدراما والموسيقى والرقص ، على سبيل المثال ، ترتبط ارتباطًا مباشرًا بتحسين التحصيل الأكاديمي ، والتنمية الاجتماعية الشاملة ، وتحسين الآفاق المهنية. تقع الصناعات الإبداعية في قلب الاقتصادات المزدهرة والديناميكية. تعد الموسيقى والفن والتصميم والدراما والرقص موضوعات أخيرًا يجب أن يحصل عليها جميع الأطفال في المناهج الدراسية. لماذا ا؟ لأن تعليم الفنون عالي الجودة لا ينبغي أن يكون حكراً على النخبة القلة الذين لديهم الموارد المالية للاستثمار في الأنشطة اللاصفية ، بل يجب أن يكون الحق الذي يمكن الوصول إليه بسهولة لكل طالب. في العديد من الحالات أدناه ، نظرنا في مدى توفر المنح الثقافية من المدارس للتعرف على ذلك.

 

التحصيل الأكاديمي العالي

وجدت دراسة حديثة أجراها مركز جلاسكو للصحة السكانية (GCPH) أن المشاركة في الفنون الأدائية أدت إلى تحسين المفردات وتحسين الذاكرة البصرية وزيادة مهارات حل المشكلات وتحسين قدرات التفكير النقدي وإثراء الاتصالات ضمن إطار عمل الفريق والتزام أعمق بالمثابرة .

لا شك أن هذه مهارات تدوم مدى الحياة ، وتشكل أساسًا متينًا للنجاح في مرحلة البلوغ.

إنه يخبرنا أنه بالنسبة لمعظمنا ، يتم إجراء حفل عشاء في كثير من الأحيان ، بدلاً من كسره ، من خلال رش السحر الذي يأتي من هؤلاء الأفراد المنغمسين في الفنون. في كثير من الأحيان ، تأتي هذه من المهارات الحياتية التي تأتي مع منطقة تعليم شامل شامل قائم على الفنون.

  • الثقة واحترام الذات: من الفوائد الواضحة للمشاركة في الفنون المسرحية تنمية الثقة بالنفس. مهارة حياة حيوية. إن الإلمام بتقديم الذات أمام الجمهور يقطع شوطًا طويلاً في تطوير التواصل الفعال. وهذا بدوره يزيد من احترام الذات والقدرة على التغلب على القلق (مهارة مفيدة للغاية في العالم الحديث المتسارع).
  • التعبير عن النفس يساعد الأطفال على فهم عواطفهم وتطوير استراتيجيات التأقلم للتعبير عنها وإدارتها بنجاح.
  • عزيمة: يتطلب النجاح التركيز والتركيز والتصميم ، والمهارات التي يتم تعلمها من خلال القول المأثور القديم "الممارسة تجعلها مثالية" أو المصطلح الأكثر حداثة "وضع 10,000 ساعة".
  • التعاطف والرحمة: تعمل الفنون على إشراك الجسد والعقل بشكل متبادل ، مما يسمح للطفل بالشعور والتفكير والتخيل للخارج ، مما يولد القدرة على التعاطف والشعور بالشفقة تجاه الآخرين.
  • العمل الجماعي: يسمح بتنمية مهارات الاتصال الشخصية الرئيسية ويسمح للطفل بتحديد وتقبل نقاط القوة والضعف لديه.

 

أفضل المدارس في دبي وأبو ظبي للفنون الجميلة والموسيقى والفنون المسرحية والفنون الإبداعية الأوسع

تقدم غالبية المدارس في جميع أنحاء الإمارات العربية المتحدة شكلاً من أشكال تعليم الفنون والدراما والموسيقى ضمن المناهج الدراسية وكجزء من برنامج الأنشطة اللاصفية الثابت. كثير منهم يفعلون كلاهما بشكل جيد للغاية. ومع ذلك ، ركزنا في ما يلي على تلك المدارس التي نعتقد أنها تقدم للطلاب شيئًا يتجاوز هذا المستوى الأعلى من التسليم المتوقع للطلاب. لقد بحثنا عن مدارس متميزة تقدم للطلاب تميزًا زائد التعليم العام في تخصصات الفنون الإبداعية والفنون المسرحية الأوسع نطاقًا - وتلك المدارس التي تكون متأصلة بعمق في المناهج الدراسية الأساسية.

في كل حالة ، حددنا تلك المدارس التي استثمرت بشكل كبير في الموارد لضمان استفادة كل طالب من الوصول إلى الفنون - وتلك التي ضمنت أيضًا حصول الطلاب الموهوبين في الفنون على الفرصة ، ضمن برنامج المدرسة للوصول إلى إمكاناتهم الكاملة. هذا يعني في كثير من الحالات تقديم المهارات والمواهب التي أثبتت جدواها المطلوبة من قبل كليات الدراسات العليا العليا في جميع أنحاء العالم.

لقد نظرنا إلى المدارس التي لديها استثمارات رأسمالية كبيرة في الفنون. سقطت بعض المدارس في هذه العقبة الأولى ببساطة بسبب نقص الاستثمار الواضح في المرافق ، على سبيل المثال ، في القاعة. تقدم مدرسة واحدة على الأقل في هذه المرحلة برنامجًا هائلاً في الفنون الأدائية ، لكنها لم تنجح أبدًا في متابعة الاستثمار المطلوب لجعل هذا الأمر ذا مغزى عند قياسه مقابل أقرانه.

من بين المعايير التي استخدمناها لوضع قائمة مختصرة بالمدارس التي أبرزناها أدناه ، كانت جودة تقديم الخدمات عبر تخصصات الفنون والموسيقى والفنون المسرحية والإبداعية الأوسع. نظرنا إلى تلك المدارس حيث يؤدي تدريس المواد في النهاية إلى الامتحانات العامة. نظرنا أيضًا إلى المدارس التي يوجد بها برنامج تجوال واضح وقوي يقدم الدعم لمؤهلات ABRSM أو Trinity أو LAMDA. أخيرًا ، سعينا للحصول على أدلة على أن الطلاب شاركوا في مسابقات وأحداث مشتركة بين المدارس أو عامة.

الآن إلى اختيارنا لأفضل مدارس الفنون والموسيقى والفنون المسرحية - والفنون الإبداعية على نطاق أوسع في الإمارات العربية المتحدة ...

أقفز للداخل.

الصفحة التالية…

نبذة عن الكاتب
جين تالبوت
مراسلة المشاريع الخاصة على SchoolsCompared.com ، جين تالبوت هي صحفية وباحثة مشهورة تشتهر بتوثيقها المتعمق والتحريضي للقضايا الرئيسية التي تواجه الآباء في التعليم في جميع أنحاء العالم. لقد جلبت إلى SchoolsCompared.com أكثر من عقدين من الخبرة في الصحافة والتزامًا حقيقيًا وعاطفيًا بالكتابة يضع رعاية الأطفال والأسر في الصدارة. "أكتب لدعم العائلات التي تواجه أصعب القرارات في التعليم - سواء كان ذلك في اليوم الأول في المدرسة أو التنقل في تحديات مثل عسر القراءة. إنني أرى الصحافة على أنها دعوة تعد شيئاً فشيئاً بتغيير العالم إلى الأفضل. إن المدارس بالمقارنة تمنحني الفرصة لأؤدي دوري ، للآباء والأطفال ، في هذه الصورة الأكبر. "
التعليقات

اترك تعليق

Guides
Now Reading
Top Schools For Art, Music and the Performing Arts in the UAE. Part 1. The SchoolsCompared.com Guide for Parents 2021.
Arts, Music and Drama
0

Background: The Best Schools For Art, Music And Performing Arts in the UAE. The 2021 SchoolsCompared.com Guide for Parents 2021.

In the past, subjects such as Music, Art, the Performing Arts and Drama were considered to be ‘soft’ subjects. Vicariously stereotyped as little more than fun past times and often side-lined into extra curricular activities, the wisdom of some schools (and governments) was that these disciplines were neither educationally beneficial, nor necessarily useful to a students future or the needs of business and industry. Worse, many students who did study (and excel) in these disciplines, if they were fortunate enough to find a supportive school, were often seen as second rate when compared with their high achieving academic peers.

A focus on EBacc subjects, and a supposedly core curriculum of “truly” important subjects, still does not help matters with weaker schools often using a restricted curriculum with limited subject choices as a lever to secure better results – but at the great cost to those many children whose gifts lie elsewhere.

Nevertheless, the perception and value placed on these disciplines has not only changed – but now reversed.

These subjects are now understood to be absolutely key to whole child development – and a vital tool in accessing skills that are critically important to us all in adulthood. It is precisely the soft skills that come with the Arts that are prized across industry which today recognises that the most successful individuals within an organisation are those with that formidable mix of outstanding communication skills, creativity, emotional intelligence – and a capacity for innovation that are so fundamental to students gifted in the Arts – and much harder to measure in the restrictive scope of examinations.

In the US a 2019 study by the US Bureau of Economic Analysis and the National Endowment for the Arts found the Arts contributed some $763.6 billion to the US economy – 4.2 percent of GDP – more than agriculture, transportation, or warehousing.

In the UK, the economic output of arts, entertainment and cultural activities was conservatively calculated to be £10.47 billion in Gross Value Added, this equivalent to some 0.5% of the British economy. The majority of this, some £7.92 billion, was from the Arts and entertainment sector.

Investments in events culture and broader Arts related infrastructure has placed the UAE at the forefront of the sector in the Arab world globally. Whilst easily comparable GDP data is not available, the power of the Arts is evangelised as pivotal to the UAE’s mission to establish itself as the leading trading hub between East and West, and provides a key differentiator from competition from Singapore. From the Opera House, to the Louvre Abu Dhabi; from La Biennale di Venezia to LitFest;  from the cultural quarter of Alserkal Avenue in Dubai to the achievements of the Sharjah Art Foundation; and, from F1 to Expo 2020, the Arts is everywhere. For many of us, the UAE shines in the way it does precisely because of the cultural richness that has come to define it. The critique of the UAE as a plastic world without substance or depth of culture has long ago lost any substance.

“A Country that loses sight of its heritage and culture risks its present and future”

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan

Below is our list of schools that meet or exceed the most outstanding level of provision in the Creative Arts in alphabetical order. Every school listed offers something exceptional for children across these disciplines.

  • Al Raha International School
  • American School of Dubai
  • Brighton College Abu Dhabi
  • The British International School Abu Dhabi. A Nord Anglia Education School.
  • The British School of Al Khubairat
  • Cranleigh School Abu Dhabi
  • Dubai College
  • Dubai English Speaking College
  • Dubai English Speaking School
  • GEMS Jumeirah College
  • GEMS Wellington Academy Silicon Oasis
  • Kings’ Schools Al Barsha

Covid 19, of course, has wreaked particular havoc in education. It has brought to light, front and centre stage, just how centrifugally important the Creative Arts are to the cultural life of every nation, their economies – and, not least, their fundamental role in nurturing the mental health of people. Under Covid 19, the Creative Arts have grown in stature as the world’s most universal currency, one bringing unity where currencies divide. The calls of economists to begin to measuring economic impacts in terms of values rather than value comes in no small pat because of the sense of loss felt by so many of us as Covid has ravaged the Arts.

Supporting the Arts in our schools, then, has never been more important. They is simply not something we can afford to lose.

On that basis, each of the schools in the following, deserve not only significant credit for their achievements for children, but support for their front line role in ensuring, powerfully, that the creative gifts of our future generation are nurtured for the societies and world ahead of them.

 

An Arts Curriculum For more than Gifted Students

“Everybody is genius.

But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

Albert Einstein

A school that incorporates Art, Music and the Performing Arts into its core curriculum, with as much vigour and attention as the traditionally honoured subjects (Mathematics, English, Science and Technology), is a school that understands not only that a student with a gift for creativity and performance deserves an education that fully caters to their skill set and their prospects, but that the fundamental role too of a broad-based education  in the development of all children. It is a school that recognises that the future of any society lies in its pioneering rather than conservative, repetitive mindset and ambition.

Tellingly, you will not find either a KHDA or ADEC outstanding school, regardless of curriculum, that does not invest very significantly in a breadth of curriculum and subject choices for students that includes, intrinsically, and at its heart, the Arts. Whole child development and exceptional breadth of subject provision are arguably the definitive hallmarks of outstanding school status for the UAE’s educational regulating bodies.

 

Holistic Curriculum

Having a rich and accessible Fine Art, Music, Design, Photography, Sculpture, Pottery and Performing Arts programme means more that basing a teaching methodology on the principles of STEAM. It requires serious investment. In practice this can mean everything from black box theatres and recording studious to dance studios and investment across the spectrum of musical instruments. In examining the offers of schools we have taken into account the level of investment made by schools and evidence of their ongoing commitment to invest.

It also means teaching art history, fine arts, photographic art, film, theatre, dance and multi-media arts. It means attracting talented teachers and support staff with the skills to deliver modern, dynamic, impassioned and challenging lessons that cater to the highest denominator.

Finally, we also believe that it means recognising those schools which genuinely make the Performing Arts and broader Arts culture integral to their school’s identity, recognising those schools which make the Arts a lever to reinforce school values, leverage them as a key mechanic of inclusion and a driver for cross-disciplinary innovation and understanding.

 

The Overall Benefits Of Art, Music and the Performing Arts

It is no secret that participation in the Performing and broader Arts reaps dividends. Countless studies have been undertaken concluding that a child’s involvement in Drama, Music and Dance, for example, is directly linked to improved academic attainment, overall social development and improved career prospects.  The creative industries are at the heart of thriving and dynamic economies. Music, Art and Design, Drama and Dance are subjects, finally, that all children should have access to within the curriculum. Why?  Because a high-quality Arts education should not be the preserve of the elite few who have the financial resources to invest in extra curricular activities, but, rather, should be the readily accessible entitlement of every student. In many cases below, we have looked at availability of cultural scholarships from schools to recognise this.

 

Higher Academic Achievement

A recent study by the Glasgow Centre for Population Health (GCPH) found that participation in Performing Arts resulted in improved vocabulary, enhanced visual memory, increased problem solving skills, better critical thinking abilities, enriched communications within a team framework and a deeper commitment to perseverance.

Without a doubt these are skills that last a lifetime, forming a solid foundation for success in adulthood.

It is telling that for most of us a dinner party is more often made, rather than broken, by having a sprinkling of the magic that comes from those individuals steeped in the Arts. More often than not these come from the life skills that come with the territory of a broad Arts grounded inclusive education.

  • Confidence And Self-Esteem: an obvious benefit of participation in the Performing Arts is the development of self-confidence; a vital life skill. Familiarity with presenting oneself in front of an audience goes a long way in the development of effective communication. This in turn increases self-esteem and the ability to overcome anxieties (a hugely beneficial skill in the rushed modern world).
  • Self Expression helps children to understand their own emotions and to develop coping strategies to successfully express and manage them.
  • Perseverance: success requires concentration, focus and determination, skills that are learned through the age-old adage ‘practice makes perfect’ or the more modern term ‘putting in your 10,000 hours’.
  • Empathy And Compassion: the Arts engage the body and the mind interdependently, allowing a child to feel, think and imagine outwards, which generates an aptitude for empathising and feeling compassion for others.
  • Teamwork: allows for the development of key interpersonal communication skills and allows the child to identify and accept their strengths and weaknesses.

 

The Top Schools In Dubai and Abu Dhabi For Fine Art, Music, the Performing Arts and broader Creative Arts

The majority of schools across the UAE offer some form of Art, Drama and Music education within the curriculum and as part of an established extra curricular activity programme. Many do both extremely well. However, in the following we have focused on those schools which we believe offer students something beyond even this higher level of expected delivery for students. We have looked for stand-out schools offering students an outstanding plus overall education in the broader Creative Arts and Performing Arts disciplines – and those schools in which these deeply embedded within the core curriculum.

In every case, we have identified those schools which have invested significantly in the resources to ensure that every student benefits from access to the Arts – and those which have also ensured that that those students gifted in the Arts have the opportunity, within the school’s programme, to reach their full potential. In many cases this means delivering on the skills and proven talent required by top graduate schools worldwide.

We have looked at schools with significant capital investment in the Arts. Some schools fell at this first hurdle simply because of a lack of obvious investment in facilities, for example, in an auditorium. At least one school on this point does deliver a formidable programme in the Performing Arts but has never managed to follow through with the investment required to make this meaningful when measured against its peers.

Amongst the criteria that we used to shortlist the schools that we have highlighted below, were the quality of provision across disciplines of Art, Music and the broader Performing and Creative Arts. We looked at those schools where the teaching of subjects lead ultimately to public examinations. We looked also to schools where there was a clear and strong peripatetic programme offering support for ABRSM, Trinity or LAMDA qualifications.  Finally, we sought evidence that students participated in inter-school or public competitions and events.

Now to our pick of the very best schools for Art, Music, the Performing Arts – and Creative Arts more broadly in the UAE…

Jump in.

Next page…

About The Author
Jane Talbot
Special Projects Reporter on SchoolsCompared.com, Jane Talbot is a renowned features journalist and researcher recognised for her in-depth and inciteful documentation of key issues facing parents in education worldwide. She brings to SchoolsCompared.com more than two decade’s experience in journalism and an authentic, deeply compassionate commitment to writing that places the welfare of children and families centre stage. “I write to support families facing the hardest decisions in education – whether that is the first day at school or navigating challenges like dyslexia. I see journalism as a vocation that promises, little by little, to change the world for the better. SchoolsCompared gives me the chance to play my part, for parents and children, in that bigger picture.”

Leave a Reply